Apr 30, 2013

Spring Fling Giveaway Hop

203 comments

Spring Fling Giveaway Hop
May 1st – 7th

Participating blogs are offering a book related giveaway 
and we are all linked up together so you can easily 
hop from one giveaway to another.

My Giveaway ~
$15 Amazon Gift Card (INT)



a Rafflecopter giveaway

After you have entered my giveaway...
hop to another giveaway from the list below :)

The Life is Too Short Collection Blog Tour

0 comments
Book Details:
Genre: Women's

LOVED. LOVED. LOVED IT!

Short, funny chapters make it a quick pick it up... read a little... put it down... go on with life... pick it up again...put it down... ponder... pick it up again...etc.

Each chapter is its own story of the wonderment of all that it means in being female.

So put life on hold, take a deep breath, and dive into these pages.

They will leave you renewed, refreshed, and rejuvenated....

And along the way you will find that humor really does help you find the joy in being a woman, a wife, and a mother.

Captivating and inspiring! You will laugh, you will ponder, you will plan, you will rejoice, and then you will be ready to take on life again.

Tour Giveaway
$25 Amazon Gift Card
Ends 5/7/13
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writerhttp://www.iamareader.com and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author:
Connie Sokol is a mother of seven, a national and local presenter, and a regular speaker at Education Week. She is a monthly contributor on KSL TV “Studio 5,” and regular blogger for KSL "Motherhood Matters." She is a former TV and radio host for Bonneville Communications, and columnist for Deseret News and Utah Valley Magazine. Mrs. Sokol is the author of several books including the award-nominated romance Caribbean Crossroads, the 8-week Challenge program of Faithful, Fit & Fabulous, Life is Too Short for One Hair Color Series, as well as talk CDs and podcasts. Mrs. Sokol marinates in time spent with her family and eating decadent treats.

(A digital review copy of this title was provided by the author for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Apr 29, 2013

What I Do when I Review

6 comments
For the past 4 years I have been a blog tour host for Cedar Fort, Covenant Communications, Deseret Book, Shadow Mountain, Inspired Kathy, Trifecta Books and a few Indie Authors...
and they have keep me pretty busy...and I have LOVED it!

For the time being I am no longer taking any other review requests.
``````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````
``````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````
````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````
Here is what I do for my reviews~

First, and foremost I must choose a book to review. I work in a bookstore and see what new books come in and choose a lot of those. I watch for “blog tours” and sign up for many of those. I also love it when authors contact me to review their books and I choose a lot of them that way—sometimes I get a little overwhelmed with request and have to say “not right now” along the way.

Second, I read the book. I choose to read every word often including the front and back of the book, the jacket flaps, the acknowledgments, the introduction, etc. I want to be able to stand by the book and not have any surprise words or scenes show up that I didn’t preview—this takes time.

Third, I have a high standard for what I read and for what I put on my blog. If I find the book has questionable material I will not post a review of it. That way you know that the books I post are safe to read…all of them!

Fourth, I write a positive review. If a book meets my standards it will be a good book and therefore it will be easy to find good things to say about it. Sometimes I will include a book description, a book excerpt, and/or quotes from other people and what they are saying about the book.

Fifth, I like to add a sidebar banner with a link to the review post. This gives the book more time on my main page in addition to the one time post. If a banner is not included, such as a blog tour banner, I create one myself. Here are a few of my favorites...

Sixth, I try to find a blog or Facebook page that the author has and link it to their name on the blog post. This allows my readers to also find these author sites.

Seventh, I like to add author bios and pictures and sometimes I will add a “tens list” of some fun facts about the author.

Eighth, I am always open to book giveaways. I like to use the rafflecopter form and will include “likes” to author sites as entry requirements.

Finally, in addition to posting my review on my blog, I post reviews on AmazonGoodReadsPinterestGoogle+DeseretBook, Twitter, and my Facebook page.

And that is the effort I put into each one of my reviews—

I am Shauna and I Love to Read and Review Books :)

Apr 27, 2013

Ann Romney: A Mother First

2 comments
Book Details:
Author: Josh Romney
Release Date: March 2013
Publisher: Covenant Communications
Genre: Inspiration

We have heard a lot about Mitt Romney lately...

Now, son Josh Romney, pays tribute to his mother, Ann Romney.

You can feel his love for her as he describes:
her courtship to Mitt
her conversion story
her marriage
her raising 5 sons
her defending the role of homemaker
her battle with Multiple Sclerosis
her winning silver and gold medals

To some she is know as Mrs. Mitt Romney
To some she is know as Ann Romney

To 5 boys she is know as MOM :)

Justine, We're Late!

0 comments
Book Details:
Author: Shimrit Nothman
Release Date: April 2013
Genre: Children

CUTE! CUTE! CUTE!

And...
VERY HELPFUL in teaching a child (or even an adult) about conflict resolution!

LOVED the simplicity and the rhyming!
LOVED the illustrations!
LOVED the concept!

Book Description:
Justine, a young girl, never seems to be ready for school in time.
She just can't decide what to wear!

Her mom gets very upset with her and Justine doesn't know what to do.
Luckily, Justine's three favorite stuffed animals come to her rescue, each offering her different advice.

But which advice should she choose? How can she solve the conflict with her mom?

About the Author:
Shimrit Nothman was born and raised in Israel. She was awarded a Bachelors in Psychology and Communications from Haifa University and a Masters in Conflict Resolution from Tel Aviv University.

During her university years she worked at the Debate Company. Shimrit lectured all around Israel, teaching children and adults from all walks of life how to express themselves better.

Shimrit lived in Australia for a few years before returning to her native Israel with her young family. In Australia she ran a small Communication consultancy firm.

She writes a bi-weekly column in the Jerusalem Post online newspaper, called Family Matters, which focuses on conflict resolution in the family.

Sarann and the Prince of Angkor

0 comments
Book Details:
Author: Camron Wright
Release Date: January 2013
Publisher: Shadow Mountain
Genre: Folk Tale

Many countries have a story of a Cinderella-type person...
A person who is left to the fate of a stepmother and stepsisters.

A person who is after years of neglect finds her "handsome prince" and "lives happily ever after."

We LOVE these stories and this version is just as wonderful!

A young girl, Sarann, loses her mother to death and her father is just recovering from the same illness that took his wife.

Fearing that he too will die, he quickly chooses another wife so that Sarann will not be left alone.

As folk tales go...the father did die and the stepmother turns on Sarann.

The step mother wants to be the most beautiful person alive and when she finds out that there is a flower in the deep jungle that "if rubbed against one's skin, they would draw such radiance and stunning beauty to the surface they would make the person irresistible."

Of course the stepmother wants these flowers, but she doesn't want to go into the jungle.

So she sends Sarann...

Sarann is afraid to go, but when the stepmother threatens to destroy all the Sarann has left of her parents she leaves in search of this flower....

Read to find out what happens :)

This book is FREE on Deseret Bookshelf /Amazon / Nook 

It is also an excerpt from the book The Rent Collector also by Camron Wright
Click HERE to read my review of The Rent Collector.

About the Author:

Camron Wright holds a master’s degree in writing and public relations. He says he began writing to get out of attending MBA school, and it proved the better decision. His first book, Letters for Emily, was aReaders Choice award winner, as well as a selection of the Doubleday Book Club and the Literary Guild. In addition to North America, Letters for Emily was published in several foreign countries. Camron lives with his wife, Alicyn, in Utah. They are the parents of four children.

Apr 26, 2013

Family Ever After Book Blast

0 comments

Family Ever After: 
Simple Ways to Achieve Perfect Happiness in an Imperfect Family 

Women frustrated with their marriage and their family will find the help they need to achieve greater happiness and success in their family in the new book, Family Ever After: Simple Ways to Achieve Extraordinary Happiness with Your Ordinary Family by stay-at-home mom, blogger, and ordinary family leader Michelle H. Packard. Family Ever After uses the fairytale concept that once you find your prince charming life is happily ever after. Michelle H. Packard knows this concept, while romantic, is not realistic, and she provides a practical, poignant, funny, and moving exploration of the simple ways you can help find greater happiness and satisfaction in your marriage and family. Packard says, “While the idea of happy ever after is distorted, you can, in fact, achieve a Family Ever After.” Family Ever After brings time-tested and well-researched principles to family life to help you learn specific ways to improve your marriage and your family, whether that family is ordinary or extraordinary. Using real-world examples of best practices and helping woman readjust their media-driven perception of what happily ever after means, Family Ever After gives readers a pragmatic, helpful, and entertaining exploration of:
  • How happiness in marriage and family life requires a more educated, real-world perspective
  • How proper prioritization and defining what’s important in marriage and family is key to success;
  • Why conflict is part of an ordinary family experience and how to peacefully resolve it;
  • How to cultivate a sense of humor;
  • How to develop a thoughtful and sincere habit of complimenting each member of your family;
  • How to improve family relationships with extended family members; and
  • Learning how to love a family member in the way they understand and accept that love
More than another how-to-have-a-perfect-family book, Family Ever After helps you gain the understanding and the practical skills of what makes ordinary families successful. Family Ever After is an essential and beautiful resource for all women who want to put more happiness in theirs and their family’s life.  
Praise 
"Family Ever After is a must-read for every happily married Cinderella who wonders why she’s still holding the broom." --Rachelle J. Christensen, award-winning author of Wrong Number and Caller ID

"Michelle is open enough to have given readers an intimate look into her life and those close to her, allowing us to learn from both painful and sweet experiences. Her self-reflective style and meaningful insights, if applied, would clearly make a profound impact in the lives of readers." --Shawn Edgington Ph.D.    

michelleAuthor Michelle Packard Michelle Packard is a mother to her four very human and totally fabulous kids. Her oldest, Ella is always in charge and leads the pack with creativity and curiosity, Daniel follows with loyalty and loves tenderly, Julia is a doll and always buzzing over something beautiful, and Jackson could hunt down the last sharpie on earth to create art on your bathroom wall. She has been married ten years and is quite taken with her guy. Date night is her favorite and she dreams of weekend getaways with her man. She loves creating beauty through floral design, but apparently has no gift with living flowers (They end of upside down and pressed in books). She finds parties alluring. They beckon her to invite people over, spend way too much time preparing food for murder mystery dinners, and totally enjoy friends and family. Michelle holds a bachelors degree in Home and Family Science from Brigham Young University. She has spent a great deal of time working with children and young adults and finds her greatest joy is happy families.
   


  Book Blast Giveaway $50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Ends 5/15/13
   a Rafflecopter giveaway

Apr 25, 2013

A Thousand Suns

2 comments
Book Details:
Author: Jim Haberkorn
Release Date: March 2013
Publisher: Bonneville Books
Genre: Suspense Thriller

I am a little late getting in on this tour...but so worth reading!

Don't let your cowboys grow up to be spies
I LOVED the suspense and the action and the love between a husband and a wife!

Incredibly well written it keeps you turning the pages to find out what is going to happen next and how they are going to resolve the conflicts that just keep coming their way.

The back cover gives you only a small part of the story...
It is true...every six months a Russian agent is sent to fight the local cowboy/ex-spy Rulon Hurt.
And Rulon does save the Russian (Boris) from a local gang of skinheads.

And the back cover slightly hints at Boris and Yohaba (Rulon's wife) and their trip to Zurich.

What it doesn't tell you is all the other great parts!
The way the wife translates for her husband...very fun!
The multiple fist fights to defend one's honor.
The gun-slinging to protect life.
Hammer throwing (had to look this one up...very interesting)
The possible bio-chemical warfare.
The insatiable revenge of one man and his father.
The love and honor of another man.
The love of a wife who will go to any lengths to help her husband stop running or from even being killed. For as his enemies hate him with "the heat of a thousand suns"...she loves him with that same passion only her thousand suns "burn hotter."

This book is SO GOOD!
LOVED LOVED LOVED IT!
A definite MUST READ!

The author has graciously agreed to do a GIVEAWAY of his book
US/Canada addresses only please.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Other books by the Author:
While this is the first book in the Rulon Hurt series you do not have to read it first, but believe me you will want to read it at some point :)
Rulon Hurt is a straightlaced, religious, and hardworking farmer from Idaho. Yohaba Melekson is a wild, worldly, and impossibly intelligent physics student from Switzerland. But when the two discover a trunk full of Albert Einstein's secret writings, they learn that opposites attract in this electric tale that pits truth against lies, faith against knowledge, heart against mind, and an epic struggle for survival against the planet's imminent destruction.

About the Author:
(In Jim Haberkorn's own words)
I was born in Brooklyn in 1951, the second child of three. We lived in a three story walk-up in a lower middle class neighborhood. At the time, Ebbets Field was still the home of the Brooklyn Dodg- ers, children scurried under desks during air raid drills, and America was the hope of the world - still is, in my opinion. I recall New York's steamy hot summers filled with stick ball games on city streets, chattering neighbors sitting on stoops, and a neighborhood dominated by rather benign gangs called the Halsey Tots and the Halsey Bops.

The sixties came and so did the Kennedy assassination - what a day that was - and the 1964 New York State World's Fair with its promise of a 'great, big, beautiful tomorrow' where technology and science would solve all the world's problems. I can remember visiting the various exhibits from GM, Ford, General Electric, Pepsi, and other dominant U.S. corporations and thinking surely by 2011 there will be flying cars.

In 1966, my family left Brooklyn for the hills of San Francisco. I attended high school at St. Ignatius on Stanyan Street just two blocks from Golden Gate Park and not far from the corner of Haight and Ashbury. I ran cross-country and track and interrupted workouts in the park to stop by free Grateful Dead and Doobie Brothers concerts in the meadows and polo fields. The Viet Nam war seemed never-ending and my beloved Golden Gate Park drew thousands of protestors. The 70s ushered in more changes when I moved to Silicon Valley, enlisted in the Marine reserves, attended college, and started my career. I joined a computer company in 1978 in whose employ I have lived on three continents and conducted business in over 40 countries. If Einstein's Trunk has an international feel, you can thank my employer for that.

Brooklyn is my birthplace, but I have lived in California, North Carolina, Washington, Idaho, South Africa, and Switzerland. I still have a home in Boise and love both Idaho and Switzerland. No wonder my hero, Rulon Hurt, had roots in Idaho, graduated from Boise State University, and lives in Zurich - very similar to my history.

What a coincidence! I currently live and work in Zurich, Switzerland with my encouraging and ever-resourceful wife, Kim. Zurich is a cultured mixture of old and new with its steepled churches and cobblestoned streets in the older section along the Limmat. It has a diverse blend of old and new, which I like, with medieval architecture intermixing with perhaps the world's premier shopping boulevard, the Zurich Bahnhofstrasse, stretching a mile from the main train station down to the Zurich Lake. And, of course, there is the international banking industry with its well-earned claim to secrecy. No wonder so many thrillers, including Einstein's Trunk, use Zurich as a backdrop.

TEN FUN FACTS ABOUT JIM HABERKORN

1. I’ve visited 47 countries in my lifetime – most of them more than once.

2. When I was nineteen me and a friend walked California’s John Muir trail – about 220 miles.

3. During my backpacking years, I had several crazy and dangerous encounters with bears.

4. I graduated from good old Boise State University – coincidentally, the same college as Rulon Hurt – my books’ hero. Go Broncos!

5. I happen to know where the best hot chocolate in the world is served – Storchen Hotel, Zurich. It’s a pretty small cup, costs about $8.50

6. My wife and I love to mountain bike. It gets us out in nature and there are no cars.

7. I know the secret to driving in any country with cars on the opposite side you are used to – always keep the steering wheel in the middle of the road.

8. I was once so engrossed in a book that I sat at the boarding gate while my plane boarded and missed my flight. Come to think of it, that was not fun.

9. When I was in the Marines my job for five years was to fire a 3.5” rocket launcher – bazooka – at junk cars sitting in fields – now that was fun!

10. My wife is South African – any fun list about me has to include her. :)


(A digital review copy of this title was provided by the author for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

A Longtime (and at one point illegal) Crush

4 comments

Book Details:
Author: Janette Rallison
Release Date: February 2013
Genre: Contemporary Romance

I have about 31 books that I NEED to read...
But when I saw this on Amazon this morning...AND it was only $ .99...AND it was only 58 pages...I knew I just had to push everything else aside and read it!
I LOVE Janette Rallison's books and I knew I would LOVE this one too :)
And it was SO WONDERFUL!
A sweet, romantic, heart-tender book!
I wish it had been longer!

Book Description:
From the day Elsie’s older brother brought his friend Kye McBride over to their house, Elsie adored him. When she was eight, she secretly blew kisses to him. When she was twelve, she sat on the stairs unnoticed and watched him escort another girl to prom. When she was a senior in high school, she walked into math class and found out he was her new math teacher.

With that much emotion fueling her, things were bound to go wrong. And they did. Elsie not only spent the last two weeks of school avoiding him, she turned avoiding-Kye-at-all-costs into her life-long philosophy.

Now three years have passed and Elsie has come home for her brother’s wedding. She’s got to face Kye-–hopefully without getting crushed again.

Fun side fact:
Janette's husband's grandparents: Leo and Lucile Rallison met when Lucile was a senior and Leo was an agricultural teacher at her high school. For Leo it was love at first sight--since he didn't know if she was another teacher or a student. When he found out she was a top scholar, he went out of his way to be friendly to her. He would smile and wink at her to see her blush.

At the end of the year Leo got permission from the principal to ask Lucile to the prom. Two years later they married, settled down, and proceeded to have nine children. Their descendants now number into the hundreds.

Janette says: 
"I've always thought their romance was a sweet story. It avoided the whole creepiness issue because the two so clearly loved each other. he wasn't using his position of authority to get something that was improper. He didn't hide his courtship--and he didn't kiss her until they had been seeing each other for six months. he had real and honorable feelings for her, evident by their marriage....I am glad you fell in love! It led to me falling in love with your grandson."

Abut the Author:
I LOVE this bio found on her blog...

Janette Rallison is old. Don't ask how old, because it isn't polite. Let's just say she's older than she'd like to be and leave it at that.

Janette lives in Chandler, Arizona with her husband, five children and enough cats to classify her as "an eccentric cat lady." She did not do this on purpose. (The cats, that is; she had the children on purpose.) Every single one of the felines showed up on its own and refuses to leave. Not even the family's fearless little Westie dog can drive them off.

Since Janette has five children and deadlines to write books, she doesn't have much time left over for hobbies. But since this is the internet and you can't actually check up to see if anything on this site is true, let's just say she enjoys dancing, scuba diving, horse back riding and long talks with Orlando Bloom. (Well, I never said he answers back.)

Lifestyles of the Great & Spacious

0 comments
Book Details:
Author: John Bytheway
Release Date: 2013
Publisher: Deseret Book
Genre: Scripture Helps

We are so blessed to have the scriptures!
But do we read them?
Do we heed them?
Do we sometimes struggle to understand them?

I know I struggle with understanding... that is why I am so grateful that authors like John Bytheway share their knowledge of the scriptures with us.

I LOVE how he starts the book...
"It's only thirty-two verses, or 982 words in length, but it's a life changer--and unforgettable and highly applicable metaphor.  We call it Lehi's dream."

He then goes on to explain about each part of the vision:
the tree of life
the rod of iron
the mists of darkness
the ominous great and spacious building 

He tells what each means in his Thoughts, Insights, and Observation section he has in each chapter.

And then my FAVORITE part...
Each chapter has an APPLYING THE DREAM TO OUR REALITY.

I LOVED LOVED LOVED this book and now have so much greater understanding...and I will try to seek more "Tree-of Life" moments!



About the Author:
John Bytheway is a bestselling author, favorite speaker, and part-time instructor at Brigham Young University. His many titles include Heroes: Lessons from the Book of Mormon; Standards Night Live; Isaiah for Airheads; A Crash Course in Teenage Survival; Behind Every Good Man and his most recent book, Of Pigs, Pearls & Prodigals. He has also created numerous talks on CD, many of which are combined in The John Bytheway Collection, Vols. 1 and 2.

John served a mission to the Philippines and holds a master’s degree in Religious Education. He and his wife, Kimberly, have six children.







(A digital review copy of this title was provided by the publisher for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Apr 24, 2013

Trouble's on the Menu

0 comments
Book Details:
Authors: Caleb Warnock and Betsy Schow
Release Date: April 2013
Publisher: Sweetwater Books
Genre: Romantic Comedy/Suspense

This book is SO CUTE 
and SO FUN 
and SO GOOD!

Lots of suspense, good mystery, great humor, and romantic sprinklings.

Fun story set in the very small town of Tippy Canoe where the neighbors know everyone and know everything about everyone.

A Christmas tree farm in jeopardy.
A school trying to stay open in the struggling economy.
A California girl come to settle the estate of her late husband who she has been estranged from for a very long time.
A mayor trying to keep his town and his family farm from ruin.
Townspeople who in the event of a town crisis come together to make this the best Christmas yet and look forward to wonderful friendships being formed.

Wonderful recipes are given including my favorite...Hot Snow-Chocolate :)

Click HERE to read chapter one

About the Authors:

I LOVED in the book how Caleb describes the writing of this book:
"I wrote the first draft of this novel a couple of years before I had a publisher. When it came time to offer this novel to my editor, I asked my writing students to comment on the first chapter before I turned in the manuscript. I had a relatively new student at the time, Betsy Schow, who had just finished workshopping a book in my class called Finished Being Fat that had been picked up, coincidentally, by my own publisher, Cedar Fort, Inc. Betsy had a lot of really great suggestions for my chapter, particularly for the voice of the main character, Hallie Stone. I found myself writing down Betsy's suggestions as fast as I could, wishing I had thought of them first. The next day, I did what every good teacher does when he is bested by a student--I asked Betsy to coauthor with me."

Caleb Warnock is the bestselling author of more than a dozen books, ranging from gardening, to baking, to writing.

After many years of unhappiness and being unpleasantly plump, Betsy Schow found her way to weight loss success and a better life through the Philosophy of Finishing. She shares it all in her first book, Finished being Fat – available January 2013 from Cedar Fort Inc. Her adventure inspired her certify in yoga and fitness so she could help others achieve their goals. You can find her running around the mountains of Utah, chained to her laptop, or wrangling two small children.

Apr 23, 2013

So Many Books...So Little Time!

2 comments
Books that look interesting...
but I have not had time to read yet.

I get contacted by so many authors...and I LOVE that! 
However, I just don't have time to read them all :(

And some I see on the shelf and have to leave them sitting there...

So if you have read any of these books 
please let me know what you thought about it :)

A
Accidental Private Eye by Clair M. Poulson
Angels Watching Over You by Judy C. Olsen
Armed With Righteousness from the 2012 BYU Women's Conference

B
C
Case File 13: Zombie Kid by J. Scott Savage

D
The Death of a Disco Dancer by David Clark
Dad Rules by Treion Muller

E
The End Begins: Sudden Darkness by Margot Hovley
Emmalee by Jenni James
Einstein's Trunk by Jim Haberkorn

F
The Fourth of July by Cami Checketts
For What It's Worth by Karey White
Faith Behind the Fences by Kelly Dispirito Taylor
Framed by Clair M. Poulson
Fairy Godmothers, Inc. by Jenniffer Wardell

G
The Guardian by Gerald N. Lund

H

I
J
Just Shy of Paradise by Carole Thayne Warburton

K

L
Lighting Candles in the Snow by Karen Jones Gowen

M
Medusa the Mean (Goddess Girls) by Joan Holub & Suzanne Williams
More Than Miracles by T.C. Christensen

N

O

P

Q

R

S
Someone Else's Fairytale by Emily Mah Tippetts
Smart Move by Melanie Jacobson
Souls in Peril by Sherry Gammon
The Sister Pact by Cami Checketts

T
Tale of the Music-Thief by Earl T. Roske
Tres Leches Cupcakes by Josi Kilpack

U


V

W

X

Y

Z

FREE eBook

2 comments
Dying to Run is FREE April 23-27th 
to celebrate the release of the third book in the Run series, Running Home

Book 1, Dead Running is $2.99
Book 3, Running Home is only $.99.




Cassidy Christensen is running.

Running from the mercenaries who killed her parents.
Running from a scheming redhead intent on making her life miserable.
Running from painful memories that sabotage her dreams of happiness.
With two very tempting men competing for her attention, she hopes she'll finally have someone to run to, but can she trust either of them? When secrets from her past threaten her family, Cassidy decides to stop running and fight for her future.

"Dead Running was everything I was hoping it would be, captivating, invigorating, and a page turner that I could not, would not, put down! Cami Checketts writes books that will make you think, and make you feel. She captivated me with The Sister Pact, and doesn't lose speed with her newest 'must read', Dead Running." 

Sheila DeChantal
Book Reviewer - Book Journey

"Dead Running can make a claim not many mystery/thrillers can, and that is that it is also really funny. I loved everything about the book. There was murder, romance, family bonds, 5K training, humor, good guys, bad guys, and an ending that left room for a sequel."
Vicki
Book Reviewer - I'd Rather Be Reading At The Beach



Cassidy Christensen wants to run.

Captured by the traffickers who killed her mother, Cassidy's only hope is Dr. Tattoo, a man she loves but nobody trusts. When she finally gets a chance to run, someone else she cares about is taken. Running might be her only chance at survival, but Cassidy won't allow another family member to be killed in her place. 




In Cassidy’s battle against human trafficking there are two choices: run or be captured.
Cassidy's humanitarian mission takes an ugly turn when human traffickers attack. Cassidy doesn’t know where to run—home to America, into Jesse’s arms, or any direction she can to escape the traffickers. Innocent families are being ripped apart and Cassidy must decide if she’s brave enough to stop running and join the fight.

Cami Checketts has done it again! Running Home is fast-paced and action packed with enough romantic moments to satisfy any romance junkie. It's a wonderful third installment of the Run series and a really fun read.
Rachael Anderson, Author of The Reluctant Bachelorette

Download your free copy of Dead Running here.







Click the links below to see my review of these books:

Showers of Books Giveaway Blog Hop

2 comments
April 24th to 30th
Co-hosted by Books à la Mode

Participating blogs are offering a book related giveaway
and we are all linked up together so you can easily
hop from one giveaway to another.

My Giveaway ~
$15 Amazon Gift Card (INT)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

After you have entered my giveaway...
hop to another giveaway from the list below :)

Apr 22, 2013

Eliza, The Life and Faith of Eliza R. Snow

0 comments
Book Details:
Authors: Karen Lynn Davidson and Jill Mulvay Derr
Release Date: 2013
Publisher: Deseret Book
Genre: Biography

What a BEAUTIFUL tribute to Eliza R. Snow!

Book Description:
"Eliza R. Snow is one of the most revered women in the history of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. We hear stories of her faith and strength, and we sing her beloved hymns. She was fondly known as "Zion's Poetess" and also as "Presidentess," because of her leadership of Relief Society and her role in forming and directing organizations for young women and children.                                                                            
She has remained a legend for generations of Latter-day Saints, but we know less about her "variegated life," as she described it—the personal joys and sorrows brought about by unfolding events in the young Church of which she was a part.

This intimate look at Eliza R. Snow, by authors Karen Lynn Davidson and Jill Mulvay Derr, reveals a more private side of this extraordinary woman. She emerges as a bright young poet in Ohio, a new convert to the restored Church, a seamstress, and a sharer in the persecutions and hardships of the early Saints. We see a member of the households of Joseph Smith and Brigham Young, a dedicated temple worker, and a traveling Relief Society president with a zeal for teaching the gospel.
Her delight in nature, her love for family and friends, and her outlook of hope for the cause of Zion are reflected here through selections from some of her best poems. Photographs, artifacts, and personal letters add visual beauty to this inspiring introduction to her fascinating life."
So BEAUTIFULLY DONE :)

You will feel a greater love and understanding for Eliza!
You will rejoice in her life!
You will treasure the legacy she left for us to follow!

May we add our prayers with hers 
"O Lord my God I pray...that I may be useful."






(A digital review copy of this title was provided by the publisher for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Apr 20, 2013

Sister Eternal

2 comments
Book Details:
Author: Dieter F. Uchtdorf
Release Date: November 2005
Publisher: Shadow Mountain
Genre: Children's

This is the true story of Elder Uchdorf.

His life in war-torn Czechoslovakia, his family's move to his grandparents home in Germany, and how is family was introduced to the gospel by an elderly, single sister named Ewig, which translated means Sister Eternal.

Beautifully illustrated for telling to children.

Apr 19, 2013

Belonging to Heaven

0 comments
Book Details:
Author: Gale Sears
Release Date: April 2013
Publisher: Deseret Book
Genre: Historical Fiction

What amazing people walk this earth!

This story is based largely on George Q. Cannon's journals.

He was first called on a mission to work the gold claim on the California's American River...to dig gold for the support of the Church.

After that he was called to serve as a missionary in the Sandwich Islands (the Hawaiian islands).

He and his companions were a little discouraged with the small amount of "white man" on the islands...(wait until you find out what Elder Cannon does about it :)

George Q. Cannon
Here is a hint:
One of his first converts was Jonathan Hawaii Napela, a descendant of Hawaiian royal blood. (His full name is Napelakapuonamahanaonaleleonalani ~ there is a pronunciation guide below :)

Jonathan and George develop a friendship that will last their entire lifetimes.

Together they translate the Book of Mormon into the Hawaiian language and Jonathan takes each new missionary for 2 months and immerses them into the language...the pattern that the Missionary Training Center would later use.

Johnathan Napela
As in all ages of the gospel, persecutions take place and both George and Johnathan suffer from it, but they both rise to the callings from the Lord and they focus on the blessings that the gospel does bring...

Elder Cannon later became an apostle and served as first counselor to prophet Lorenzo Snow.

Jonathan becomes a great leader in the church and became the head of the sugar plantation at Laie, but when his wife is stricken with leprosy he goes with her into the leper colony at Kalawao, Moloka'i and becomes the assistant superintendent of the colony...where he lives out his life helping his wife and others who are afflicted with this terrible disease.

This is their story....

A story of courage.
A story of love.
A story of gospel truths.
A story of belonging to Heaven.


Tour Giveaway
$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash ~ Ends 5/5/13
a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author:
Gale Sears is an award-winning author, known for her historical accuracy and intensive research. Gale received a BA in playwriting from Brigham Young University and a master’s degree in theater arts from the University of Minnesota. She is the author of the bestselling The Silence of God and several other novels, including The Route, Christmas for a Dollar, Autumn Sky, Until the Dawn, and Upon the Mountains. She and her husband, George, are the parents of two children and reside in Salt Lake City, Utah.

(A digital review copy of this title was provided by the publisher for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

 

I Love to Read and Review Books :) Copyright © 2012 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template