Oct 7, 2015

Always Will w/ $25 Amazon + Book Giveaway

A review copy was provided

by Melanie Jacobson

Handsome twenty-eight-year-old Will Hallerman has finally had enough of the dating world—he’s ready to find a wife and settle down.

This announcement is catastrophic in Hannah Becker’s world. After knowing Will her entire life and adoring him from afar since junior high school, she realizes her chance at love with him is in grave danger. 

Hannah’s problem? To Will, she will never be more than his best friend’s little sister. Determined to open his eyes to her charms, Hannah sets out to sabotage Will’s wife hunt by placing nightmare dates in his path and taking his search on a wild goose chase. 

Her plan is risky, but she’s willing to take a chance to catch the eye of her soul mate. 

Despite her crazy schemes, nothing seems to be working. Hannah can’t help but wonder if it’s time to set aside this childhood crush—to move on and settle down herself. 

She’s ready for a fresh start with a great guy.

If only Will weren’t suddenly changing the rules of the game . . . And how can Hannah move on when Will just won’t let her forget?

My Review
I LOVE books like this!
Fun, adorable, fun, sweet, fun, enjoyable, did I mention fun!

It was so fun to watch Will and Hannah together--best friends with a hint of flirting.

I so understand Hannah's heart--

This book is written for all women who have ever had a "crush."

Follow Will and Hannah as they try to go from best friends to dating other people to putting their hearts on the line to ...... I'm not going to give it away :)

You will totally enjoy this one!
I read everything Melanie writes!
I LOVE her books!

(Covenant Communications will notify winner by email)
a Rafflecopter giveaway
About the Author
Melanie Bennett Jacobson is an avid reader, amateur cook, and champion shopper. She consumes astonishing amounts of chocolate, chick flicks, and romance novels. After meeting her husband online, she is now living happily married in Southern California with her growing family and a series of doomed houseplants. Melanie is a former English teacher and a popular speaker who loves to laugh and make others laugh. In her down time (ha!), she writes romantic comedies for Covenant and maintains her humorous slice-of-life blog.

Tour Schedule
*October 5th:

*October 6th: 

*October 7th: 

*October 8th: 

*October 9th: 

Oct 6, 2015

Truths Most Worth Knowing: An Apostle's Witness

A review copy was provided

An Apostle's Witness

An Apostle's Witness is a rare and precious gift in today's world. And the testimony of President Boyd K. Packer, developed over the course of more than fifty years as a General Authority, is filled with wisdom and understanding.

"All knowledge is not necessarily of equal value," President Packer reminds us. In this timely book, he speaks of truths that "can be crucial to happiness as well as to exaltation." These are truths "most worth knowing," and they are essential to our progress in mortality and throughout eternity.

"The most important truth," writes President Packer, "is, of course, my witness of Jesus Christ." The stories, experiences, and principles he shares in this volume bear powerful witness of that greatest truth of all.

All truth is worth discovering, but some truths are most worth knowing.

In his final witness, President Boyd K. Packer shares vital, eternal truths—truths that can help guide us through our own mortal journey. 

Chapters entitled “Prayer and Promptings,” “How to Survive in Enemy Territory,” and “The Key to Spiritual Protection” address issues that are essential to our faith and well-being in the perilous and turbulent times in which we live. 

President Packer writes of this final witness, “After all the years that I have lived and taught and served, after the millions of miles I have traveled around the world, and with all that I have experienced, I wish to share with you those truths which are the most worth knowing.”

Excerpt Pages

My Review
What a precious gift we have in this book--especially in light of President Packer's recent passing.

So much inspiration and light from a disciple who knew.

Beautiful memes throughout make this a wonderful book not only to read, but to look at, and ponder.

Messages of hope and encouragement fill this book in hopes of filling your heart.

Hear his voice and feel of his love each time you pick up this book.
Within these pages his testimony will live on--

About the Author
President Boyd K. Packer, former President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, was set apart to this position on 3 February 2008. Previously, he was Acting President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles beginning 5 June 1994. prior to becoming Acting President, he served as a member of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, having been ordained an Apostle on 9 April 1970. He earlier served for almost nine years as an Assistant to the Quorum of the Twelve Apostle. President Packer Passed away on July 3, 2015 at the age of 90.

Oct 5, 2015

The Caretaker's Guide to Fablehaven w/ $25 Giveaway

A review copy was provided

by Brandon Mull
illustrated by Brandon Dorman

This guidebook to the Fablehaven magical preserve is filled with everything a new Caretaker might need to know in order to survive.

There are entries detailing important information about artifacts large and small, a complete bestiary of creatures (from fairies to trolls to satyrs), a guide to identifying demons, dragons, and wizards as well as valuable insights into the other magical preserves.

Immerse yourself into the secret knowledge that has been handed down through the generations by reading the updates and notes written in the margins by the former Caretakers of Fablehaven, including Grandpa Sorenson, Kendra, and Seth.

Fully-illustrated, this unique encyclopedia has gathered the world of Fablehaven into one volume and will give you the inside scoop about other magical preserves around the world, including the most magical and powerful creatures known to ever exist--dragons.

(You can click on the pictures to make them larger)

Excerpt from Introduction
If you are in possession of this book you are assumed to be the caretaker or an apprentice caretaker of Fablehaven. 

By now you’ve been introduced to the world of mythical and magical creatures. However, there is still much to learn. 

Previous caretakers of Fablehaven thought it would be helpful to create a Caretaker’s Guide specifically for those tasked with the job of nurturing, protecting, and surviving this preserve and its inhabitants. 

Do not be fooled. Fablehaven is an unpredictable and dangerous place. However, the collective knowledge gathered within the pages of this bestiary will give you the knowledge and wisdom needed to not only survive but to thrive. 

The creatures of Fablehaven are either light or dark, not necessarily good or evil. In order to be good, one must recognize the difference between right and wrong and strive to choose the right. To be truly evil one must do the contrary. Being good or evil is a choice. This is not so with the creatures of Fablehaven. 

What they are largely governs how they act. Some are inherently builders, some are nurturers, some are playful. Some are inherently destroyers, some are deceivers, some crave power. Some love light, some love darkness. But change their nature, and without much resistance, their identities follow. Like a fairy becoming an imp, or an imp regaining her fairyhood. 

Much counsel and advice has been passed down through generations and given to the new caretakers of this preserve. Perhaps the most invaluable piece of advice that has ever been given is this: Those who are careful to cause no mischief, work no magic, and inflict no harm are protected by the foundational treaty of Fablehaven. 

This truth alone may be your strongest ally and your only defense. 

One final note. The signs leading up to the front gate were not always there. In the late eighteenth century, before the guest register that controls access to Fablehaven was created, two poachers entered the property in search of big game. Needless to say, they found it. Or it found them. Many days later, the resident caretaker found them as well. Or at least he found their bodies of petrified stone. And thus the first signs outside the gates of Fablehaven were posted. 

As caretaker you have accepted a most noble assignment. Keep your eyes open. Obey with exactness. Take risks only as the last resort and you will have a better chance at seeing another sunrise. 

Welcome to Fablehaven.

My Review
What an absolutely fascinating book!
Illustrations are FANTASTIC!
Information is SPELLBINDING!

You will read about:
* Artifact and Items
* Creatures
* Demons
* Dragons
* Locations
* and Wizards

Hand-written notes in the margins (often humorous) give you added insights from those who have been the caretakers before you-

Do not read this book right before bed--
Or better yet--maybe you should-- to be prepared for those that walk the night!

Also includes clues to the sequel that will come in 2016-- DRAGONWATCH--

Blog Tour Giveaway
$25 Amazon eGift Card or Paypal Cash 
 Ends 10/28/15 

Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author
Brandon Mull, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Fablehaven and Beyonders series, travels the country visiting schools, promoting literacy, and sharing his message that Imagination Can Take You Places.

About the Illustrator
Brandon Dorman is the illustrator of the New York Times bestseller The Wizard. His work has appeared in childrens books and on numerous covers, including the Fablehaven series and The Candy Shop War series.

Oct 3, 2015

Meet Artist Brent Borup

I had the great honor of meeting artist Brent Borup the other day!

BRENT S. BORUP was born in Boise, Idaho in 1975. The third of six children to Keith and Judy Borup, he loved growing up in the small treasure valley town of Meridian, Idaho. Attending Centennial High School, he developed a love for art and made it a life goal to pursue art as a career.

In 1994, Brent was called to serve as a full time missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, serving in the Mexico, Monterrey South Mission. Upon returning home, he attended both Boise State University and the College of Southern Idaho, where he met his beautiful wife and fellow artist Jeanette.

Brent currently lives in Preston, Idaho with his wife and three children, fulfilling his dream of being an artist. He considers it a great blessing to be able to share his talents with the world.

You can find his artwork in Bed Bath Beyond, select Deseret Book Stores, and in Sam's Club throughout the western US.

Brent would love to hear from you at brentborup@hotmail.com
Or follow him on his--

Brent specializes in Inspirational Fine Art-- 
Here are some of my favorites

The Title of Liberty
Bountiful Temple
Las Vegas Temple
The Prince of Peace
That They Might Have Joy
Monterrey, Mexico Temple
Greatest in the Kingdom

Treat your family to some fine art this season ~

Oct 2, 2015

Lord Fenton's Folly w/ $25 Amazon or PayPal Giveaway

A review copy was provided

Lord Fenton's Folly
by Josi S. Kilpack

Lord Fenton is a gambler, a dandy, and a flirt—and he must marry or else he will be disinherited, stripped of his wealth and his position. He chooses Alice Stanbridge for two simple reasons: he once knew her as a young girl, and she is the least objectionable option available to him.

However, Alice has harbored feelings for Fenton since their first meeting ten years ago, and she believes his proposal is real. When she discovers it is not, she is embarrassed and hurt. However, a match with the most-eligible bachelor in London would secure not only her future but that of her family as well.

Determined to protect herself from making a fool of herself a second time, Alice matches Lord Fenton wit for wit and insult for insult as they move toward a marriage of convenience that is anything but a happy union. Only when faced with family secrets that have shaped Fenton’s life does he let down his guard enough to find room in his heart for Alice. But can Alice risk her heart a second time?

Fenton groaned and put his saucer back on the tray, making an instantaneous decision that eased his mind quite a lot. To look at every woman he met as a potential wife was irritating, and after only two weeks he was quite tired of it. Perhaps the solution was to orchestrate a match that would not lay all aspects of matrimony at his feet all at once. Perhaps treating it as a business arrangement would help it to be exactly that, thereby freeing him from all the discomfiting realities he was not yet prepared to face. “I leave for Fentonview on Tuesday and shan’t be back for a week. Courting is such a boring prospect, and you yourself said that to become infatuated with anyone might become a complication.” He paused, considered one last time what he was going to say next, and decided he felt as good about it as could be expected. “You like Alice Stanbridge and feel she would make a good wife for me?”

Lady Chariton looked confused and perhaps a bit concerned. “I do, but-”

“Then that is good enough for me,” Fenton said, rising to his feet and smiling broadly at his mother, who stared back at him in surprise. “I do find her appealing and what’s more she is not a silly little thing without a practical thought in her head.”

His mother’s eyes widened and her eyebrows rose upon her forehead. Fenton struck a pose of consternation, with his thumb and forefinger on his chin as he looked toward the window a moment, then nodded crisply and turned back to his mother who still looked shocked by his pronouncement.

“Yes, I think that Alice Stanbridge is exactly what I should like in a wife, and so I shall see to it before I leave for Hampshire-I see no reason to wait until Michaelmas and might as well get it over with.” He leaned in and kissed his mother’s hand. “Thank you for your help, Mama. I shall let you know how she responds to my proposal.”

My Review
Another GREAT Regency Romance from Josi S. Kilpack!

I so feel for Lord Fenton--wanting to be his own man, harboring resentment towards his father, trying to please is mother, holding back feelings for Alice in case he takes after his father--thinking he knows what he needs to do and then wondering if he made the right choice--SUCH GOOD WRITING!

And Alice--I so adore her! She is in love and has been for a very long time and then HE chooses HER--can life be any greater?! But only to find out that it is all just a ruse--But she is not going to back down--She will become the woman that women will envy-----even if it breaks her heart.

But life and comforts get all turned upside down and question arise when Alice accompanies Lady Chariton to Foxcroft---

Such a fabulous story!

Curl up with this FANTASTIC READ to escape into another time and another place! LOVED. LOVED. LOVED. IT!

$25 Amazon eGift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 10/29/15
Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author
Josi S. Kilpack hated to read until her mother handed her a copy of The Witch of Blackbird Pond when she was 13. From that day forward, she read everything she could get her hands on and credits her writing “education” to the many novels she has “studied” since then. She began writing her first novel in 1998 and never stopped. Sheep's Clothing won the Whitney award for Mystery/Suspense in 207 and Wedding Cake, book twelve in the Sadie Hoffmiller Culinary Mystery series won in 2014. Josi was also the Best of State winner in Fiction for 2012. Josi currently lives in Willard, Utah, with her husband, children and super-cute - but not very friendly - cat.

For more information about Josi or her books, please visit her blog, What is a Sundial In the Shade?

Sep 30, 2015

Played for a Fool w/ $25 Amazon + Book Giveaway

A review copy was provided

by Stephanie Black

Three years ago, the small town of Britteridge was rocked by the senseless murder of Gail Ludlum.

Now the people most affected by the tragedy have returned to the place where it all began, and the scene is set for the perfect revenge . . . 

Megan O’Connor’s life was shattered when she was unwittingly drawn into a kidnapping plot that ultimately led to the murder of an innocent woman. 

Though the road to redemption has been long, she’s finally found happiness with her recent engagement to a wonderful man, a pillar of the community. 

But amid the chaos of wedding planning, the return of Gail Ludlum’s son to Britteridge sets in motion a disturbing sequence of events.

Soon Megan finds herself the victim of a series of cruel deceptions that indicate one thing: her past mistakes have not been forgiven or forgotten. 

As the mischief escalates to dangerous levels, it becomes clear that someone is determined to avenge Gail’s death. 

And they won’t rest until they’ve taken a life for a life.

My Review
Intense suspense and twists in the plot keep you glued to the pages until the very end! SO. LOVED. IT!

I cannot believe how quickly all that Megan has worked for comes unraveled...fun to read about...wouldn't ever want it to happen to me.

I love the title--such a perfect fit for the story!

I had a chance to work with Stephanie a few months back--she is a super nice person and a FANTASTIC author!

You will be absolutely mesmerized by it!

(Covenant Communications will notify winner by email)
About the Author
A couple of decades ago, I graduated from Brigham Young University with a degree in history and secondary education, but I am the most pitiful history major on the planet: I’ve forgotten nearly everything I learned. No, that isn’t an exaggeration. Go on, ask me what the Teapot Dome Scandal was about. I don’t know. See?

I never did end up teaching high school (or I’d be better at remembering history). One month after I graduated, I gave birth to my first daughter and entered into full-time motherhood and part-time writing-hood. I’ve been married to my husband, Brian, for twenty-six years and we are the parents of three daughters and two sons. Recently, we added a son-in-law to the clan; he fits right in and doesn’t seem disconcerted by our quirkiness. We also added a cat a few years ago, but the son-in-law is easier to get along with, since he doesn’t scratch at the door at four a.m.

I’ve enjoyed making up stories since I was a child, when my sisters and I would play long, strange Barbie games or write and direct plays for ourselves and younger siblings. I took a creative writing class in high school, but my stories stunk, since I hadn’t yet figured out that a story needs a plot. I finally got a fun idea, and an encouraging comment from the teacher got me rolling (thank you, Mrs. Owen!). I wanted to write a novel! After a few years of writing random scenes, I decided to try writing the novel start to finish, but that led to a failed, unfinished manuscript and the realization that there was a lot more to writing fiction than I’d ever understood. I began reading fiction technique books (my first was The 38 Most Common Fiction Writing Mistakes (and How to Avoid Them by Jack Bickham. Love that book!) I started over with my novel project. After many years of reading technique books, writing, rewriting, more rewriting, submitting, and then—when I thought I was finished—major rewriting, my first novel, a futuristic thriller called The Believer, was published by Covenant Communications in January 2005. I turned to writing contemporary suspense, andFool Me Twice was released in 2008, followed by Methods of Madness (2009), Cold as Ice (2010), Rearview Mirror (2011), and Shadowed (2012). In 2013, a long-awaited dream came true for me with the publication of The Witnesses, the sequel to my first book, The Believer. In 2014, Traci Hunter Abramson, Gregg Luke, and I each contributed a novella to the suspense compilation Twisted Fate. In September of 2015, my eighth novel, Played for a Fool, will hit bookstores.

Four of my mysteries are Whitney Award winners for Best Mystery/Suspense, and The Witnesses was a Whitney Award Finalist for Best Speculative Novel.

Tour Schedule
*Sept. 28th: 

*Sept. 29th: 

*Sept. 30th: 

*Oct. 1st: 

*Oct. 2nd: 

I Love to Read and Review Books :) Copyright © 2012 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template