Apr 19, 2014

The Too-Busy Book

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Linda Andersen
Release Date: September 2004
Publisher: WaterBrook Press
Genre: Inspiration

I LOVE the back cover blurb:

"God Is Not in a Hurry.
So why are we…all the time? If we were created in his image, why are we so determined to move at a pace faster than his? It’s time to step on the brakes, slow down, and begin living the unhurried life God wants for us.
If you are like most women today, you may have picked up this book thinking: I’ll take a fast look before getting back to my to-do list. Maybe this will help me get more done. You’re in for a surprise! The Too-Busy Book offers both permission and pathways to slow your life down permanently and enjoy the process of living.
Here Is Your Invitation to Exchange Busyness for Bounty."

We are a BUSY PEOPLE!
Life is just that way...

But it doesn't HAVE TO BE!

We CAN take control! We CAN stop burning the candle at both ends!

Each chapter gives:

*a scripture to contemplate
*inspiration to savor
*a sample prayer to give
*things to reflect upon
*ideas to journal about

I LOVE daily thought books!
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ONE!

Let's "slow down to catch up with life."

Amazon * GoodReads

Apr 18, 2014

The Husband Maker Cover Reveal w/ $25 Amazon or PayPal Giveaway

0 comments
Coming July 15th 
from USA Today Bestselling author Karey White
~ The Husband Maker ~

The Husband Maker by Karey White
Charlotte’s a girl with nicknames. She may not love being called Charles or Chuck, but the hardest nickname to take is the one she was given in college, the one that’s followed her now for too many years.

They call her “the husband maker” and sadly, it fits.

Every guy she’s dated since high school has become his next girlfriend’s husband. Not hers. Not three girlfriends down the road. The next.

Is she doing something wrong or is she just cursed? 

When Kyle Aldsworth enters the picture and sweeps her off her feet, Charlotte begins to hope that maybe she's not destined to be single forever.

A senator’s son with political aspirations of his own, Kyle's wealthy, handsome, and in need of a wife.

kareyWill Charlotte be disappointed yet again, or will she finally be able to make a husband for herself? add to goodreads

Author Karey White grew up in Utah, Idaho, Oregon, and Missouri. She attended Ricks College and Brigham Young University. Her first novel, Gifted, was a Whitney Award Finalist. She loves to travel, read, bake treats, and spend time with family and friends. She and her husband are the parents of four great children. She teaches summer creative writing courses to young people and is currently working on her next book.  
 

$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway 
Ends 5/15/14
  a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Sacrament

0 comments
Book Details
Author: John Bytheway
Release Date: March 2014
Publisher: Deseret Book
Genre: Children's Picture

An AMAZING book about the ordinance of the Sacrament!

Beautifully illustrated!
Wonderfully told in poetry form!

A young boy goes to visit his grandparents.

While attending church with them he finds his mind and attention wandering especially during the Sacrament.

His grandfather lovingly shares with him about the time he was a young boy and how he

"...couldn't help but wonder what the Lord Himself would say,

Should He walk into the chapel while His Saints behaved this way."

Through this the boy learns the sacredness of the sacrament and what things to think about... and not think about... during this special time of worship.


PERFECT to help young children!
a GREAT reminder for all ages!

Includes a fascinating list of the symbols of the Sacrament~


About the Author
John Bytheway is an instructor at the Brigham Young University Salt Lake Center. He served his mission in the Philippines and earned a master’s degree in Religious Education at BYU. He has published dozens of books and audio programs and lives in Salt Lake City with his wife, Kimberly, and their six children.

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Apr 17, 2014

Miss Armistead Makes Her Choice w/ $10 Amazon Giveaway

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Heidi Ashworth
Release Date: April 2014
Publisher: Dunhaven Place Publishing
Genre: Regency Romance

Oh how I LOVE a good Regency Romance! And this one is SO. SO. SO. GOOD!

When romance versus propriety...the heart always wins, but not without a chaperone, lots of gossip and possibly a scandal :)

Miss Elizabeth Armistead is betrothed to a British soldier, Duncan.

She was there, in India, when he had his accident and has been by his side during his healing.

Only he didn't heal fully, he was blinded.

But Elizabeth feels this is a blessing for she knows that he loves her for more than her beauty that he cannot even see anymore.

She is now awaiting his arrival in England where the banns will be read and the wedding will take place.

It is in London that she meets Mr. Colin Lloyd-Jones.

Colin is just getting over being betrayed and has sworn off all balls and the London season.

So he is quite brisk with Elizabeth when she shows up at his door needing help with her carriage.

But when he learns that she is already engaged he feels safe and lets his heart soften a little.

Their friendship grows as Elizabeth waits for her intended...

Now she finds herself with a decision to make...

Wait until you read the GREAT twist in the story towards the end!

So didn't see that coming!

LOVED. LOVED. LOVED. IT!
I SO HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!
$10 Amazon Gift Card Giveaway :)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author
7 years old--Heidi writes her first story. Its's a hit (with Mom).

10 years old--since her sisters are big Georgette Heyer/Jane Austen fans, she writes a first "regency romance". Even though she dedicated it to her eldest sister who longed to visit England, she didn't let anyone read it (probably a good idea).

14 years old--she publishes a short story in the kids section of the San Jose Mercury News. She begins experimenting with pen names but in the end decides to stick with her own.

Age 25-29--she writes a number of regency romance novels, (one of which later becomes Miss Delacourt Speaks Her Mind)

Age 30--decides to devote her time to her favorite roles of wife and mother, dabbles in the antiques and collectibles market and plants a flower garden.

Age Withheld--at the encourgement of a true blue friend, she submits Miss Delacourt Speaks Her Mind to Avalon Books and sells it!

Shortly Thereafter--she starts a blog and a website and has a really big party!

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Apr 16, 2014

Easter Book Ideas

0 comments

A Christ-Centered Easter

When the author wanted more for her own family's Easter than just candy she put together this wonderful book.

Filled with
*Scriptures
*Activities
*and Stories

These hands-on day-to day ideas will help you put Christ back into Easter.

Amazon * Deseret Book * GoodReads



Easter Walk

Take a walk with Tyler and Amy as their grandpa takes them on a treasure hunt to find 6 items that represent events in the Easter Story

Things like a something sharp to help them remember the crown of thorns

Or something made of wood to help them remember the cross.

Beautifully illustrated this book will be an Easter treasure from many years.

Amazon * Deseret Book * GoodReads



The Continuous Atonement

I LOVE this book!

Brad Wilcox has a way of explaining the Atonement in ways I have never even thought about.

One story he tells is how when we make a mistake Christ doesn't say to us "Leave and never come back."

NO! That is not how the atonement works

Christ simple says "TRY AGAIN."

The Atonement isn't just a one time thing ~ it is CONTINUOUS :)

Amazon * Deseret Book * GoodReads


400 Questions and Answers about the Life and Times of Jesus Christ

Susan Easton Black amazes me!
I don't even know which questions to ask let alone know the answers.

How blessed was are that she shares her knowledge!

400 questions to make you ponder...

and then 400 answers to make you more fully understand the life and times of Jesus

I LOVE that the answers are short and easy to understand.

You can read from cover-to-cover OR you can open to one or two questions a day.

A really great book!

Diamond Rings Are Deadly Things w/ $25 PayPal Cash Giveaway

0 comments
COVER REVEAL

Diamond Rings are Deadly Things
Coming July 2014

Adrielle Pyper knows how to plan a wedding, and she's especially good at pleasing bridezillas. But when her biggest client and best friend is murdered just three days before the wedding, Adri's
world falls apart. She moves to the resort town of Sun Valley, Idaho, and starts from scratch.

Thanks to Adri's impeccable taste and unique style, she lands two celebrity clients, and her business
seems headed for success that is, until someone vandalizes the specialty wedding dresses she imported from overseas. The race is on to uncover a secret hidden within the yards of satin and lace before Adri becomes the next victim.

With a delightful blend of mystery, toe-curling kisses, humor, and spine-tingling thrills, Diamond Rings Are Deadly Things is a romantic suspense novel that will keep you turning pages long
into the night.

Endorsements
“I love Rachelle J. Christensen’s stories and characters, and Diamond Rings Are Deadly Things is another thrilling mystery to add to my collection. Don’t be surprised if you have to stay up all night to finish he book!”
--Rachel Ann Nunes, author of Before I Say Goodbye

Diamond Rings are Deadly Things pulled me right in from the first page and held me captive until the very end. Great characters, a compelling plot, a surprising twist at the end ... Rachelle Christensen knows how to craft a great mystery. 
--Tristi Pinkston, author of the Secret Sisters Mysteries

A cunningly crafty mystery with just the right mix of romance. Readers won't be able to get enough of Adrielle Pyper, stunning party-planner turned heroine.
--Nichole Giles, author of Descendant

TOUR GIVEAWAY
$25 PayPal Cash
a Rafflecopter giveaway
About the Author
Rachelle J. Christensen is a stay-at-home mom of four cute kids. She has an amazing husband, three cats and five chickens. Rachelle was born and raised in the small farming town of Rupert, Idaho which is adjacent to the setting in her latest mystery, Diamond Rings Are Deadly Things due out this July.

Her new website mashedpotatoesandcrafts.com partners with the characters from the novel to bring readers an interactive look into the mystery of crafting and wedding planning.

Rachelle graduated cum laude from Utah State University with a degree in psychology and a music minor. She enjoys singing and songwriting, playing the piano, running, motivational speaking, and of course reading.

Rachelle's first novel, Wrong Number, was awarded Outstanding Book of the Year from the League of Utah Writers and was also a 2010 Whitney Finalist.

She is also the author of Caller ID, a nonfiction book Lost Children: Coping with Miscarriage for Latter Day Saints, and a novella with a Timeless Romance Anthology, Fall Collection.

Visit http://www.rachellechristensen.com to learn more about upcoming books.



Hoppy Easter Eggstravaganza Giveaway Hop

16 comments

Hoppy Easter Eggstravaganza Giveaway Hop
Hop runs April 17th to 24th

Participating blogs are offering a book related giveaway 
and we are all linked up together so you can easily 
hop from one giveaway to another.

MY GIVEAWAY ~ $10 Amazon Gift Card (INT)



a Rafflecopter giveaway

After you have entered my giveaway...
hop to another giveaway from the list below :)

Apr 15, 2014

The 7-Day Christian

2 comments
Book Details
Author: Brad Wilcox
Release Date: April 2014
Publisher: Ensign Peak
Genre: Inspiration

WOW!
SO WISH I COULD JUST COPY THE WHOLE BOOK FOR YOU!


AMAZING insights!
WONDERFUL lessons!
BEAUTIFUL examples!

Being a Christian is more than just going to church on Sundays....it is a way of life.

"7-days a week, 52 weeks a year, and throughout all the years of your life."

Using personal stories Brad Wilcox shows us the ways we can increase our becoming more Christian... our becoming more like Christ.

Simple, yet sometimes hard, practices that will shape us into who we were meant to be.

Things like:
* Live life with a sense of urgency and a sense of integrity.
* Never check your religion at the door.
* Become trusting and happy like a child.
* Face your people fears.
* and MORE

I REALLY LOVED this idea:

"Just as the earth went through 7 days of creation, we must also go through 7 days of re-creation...a process of being formed, divided, enlightened, beautified, and filled with life."

It is time to take a stand!
Let this book help you become a 7-day Christian!


About the Author
Brad Wilcox is a professor in the Department of Teacher Education at Brigham Young University where he also enjoys working with such programs as Especially for Youth, Women’s Conference, and Campus Education Week. He is the author of the book, The Continuous Atonement, and the BYU devotional, “His Grace is Sufficient.”

Brad grew up in Provo, Utah except for childhood years spent in Ethiopia, Africa. He served a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Chile and later returned to that country to preside over the Chile Santiago East Mission from 2003-2006. 

He and his family have also lived for a time in New Zealand where he directed a Study Abroad Program for Brigham Young University. Brad currently serves as a member of the Sunday School General Board. 

He and his wife, Debi, have four children and three grandchildren. Reading, writing, teaching, and traveling are some of his favorite things. He loves Peanut M&M's and pepperoni pizza, but he realizes that doesn't sound too healthy so he is really trying hard to learn to love salads.

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Apr 14, 2014

Simplify Your Life

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Mike C. Adams
Release Date: September 2013
Genre: Self-Help

A few years back I had a STRONG NEED to simplify my life!
It became a mantra for me!
Simplify! Simplify! Simplify!

I have been practicing most of the 40 tips in the book for many years now.

They are WONDERFUL and really do bring a sense of PEACE!

I LOVE this statement in the introduction:

"People are so busy these days they get sick from the need to have and do more."

I KNOW that is TRUE!

This book brings WONDERFUL REMINDERS of TRIED and TRUE PRACTICES that will help you to SIMPLIFY your LIFE.

Things like:
*Give yourself a few minutes of time every morning.
*Practice good nutrition and exercise your body.
*Get rid of complicated clothing.
*Take time to do things you enjoy doing.
*Don't be afraid to ask for help when you need it.
*Exercise every other day.
*Cut back on the time you spend on social media websites.
*Plan your menus
*and MORE!

Each tip gives you a WHY and HOW~ and really fun pictures are included too :)

 "There is a huge need in finding ways to live a simple and relaxed life rather than one filled with busy tasks and stress. Each tip can be something you do daily or you can try one tip a day to see if they work for you." 

Stop the STRESS
SIMPLIFY YOUR LIFE

Amazon * GoodReads

Fortune Cookie w/ $25 Amazon or PayPal Giveaway

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Josi S. Kilpack
Release Date: March 2014
Publisher: Covenant Communications
Genre: Mystery

FUN!
INTRIGUING!
KEEPS YOU READING UNTIL THE VERY END!

Sadie just wants to plan her upcoming wedding.

But when she receives a strange letter from a nephew she wasn't really sure existed with a newspaper clipping of her sister's death...

She goes to San Francisco to help clear out her sister's things and try to find out what happened.

She is also hoping to form a relationship with her nephew, a owner of a Chinese restaurant.

Each time she meets with him she grabs a fortune cookie...

And each fortune helps her find another clue to the murderer.

Hard memories come to the surface for both Sadie and Pete.

"As Sadie keeps finding unanswered questions, twisted truths, and more than one motive for murder..."

Will their friendship hold or will the marriage be called off?

LOVED. LOVED. LOVED. THIS. BOOK!


TOUR GIVEAWAY
$25 Amazon Gift Card or PayPal Cash
end 4/30

a Rafflecopter giveaway
About the Author
Josi S. Kilpack hated to read until her mother handed her a copy of The Witch of Blackbird Pond when she was 13. From that day forward, she read everything she could get her hands on and accredits her writing “education” to the many novels she has “studied” since then. She began writing her first novel in 1998 and never stopped. Her novel, Sheep’s Clothing won the Whitney Award 2007 for Mystery/Suspense. Lemon Tart, the first book in the Sadie Hoffmiller Culinary Mystery series was a finalist in 2009. Josi currently lives in Willard Utah with her husband, children and super-cute cat.

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Righting A Wrong w/ $25 Amazon or PayPal Giveaway

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Rachael Anderson
Release Date: April 2014
Publisher: HEA Publishing
Genre: Contemporary Romance

This series continues with another WONDERFUL story!

Cambri has come home to help take care of her dad and things haven't changed much in her small town.

As she starts to ask about the neighbors and who still lives where she is hopeful that Jace has moved on.

The last things she wants to do is bring up old memories of the last time she and Jace saw each other and the way she had run off.

But life doesn't work that way.

Jace is going to be homeless unless he buys the only house in the town...the one that Cambri loved.
He is changing everything in hopes of getting rid of her memories.

"If only it were that easy."

Then he finds out that Cambri is back in town...

And a very FUN, CUTE story unfolds!
LOVED IT!

TOUR GIVEAWAY
$25 Amazon Gift Card or PayPal Cash
ends 4/30
a Rafflecopter giveaway
About the Author
A USA Today bestselling author, Rachael Anderson is the mother of four and is pretty good at breaking up fights, or at least sending guilty parties to their rooms. She can’t sing, doesn’t dance, and despises tragedies. But she recently figured out how yeast works and can now make homemade bread, which she is really good at eating.

Other Books in this Series

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)
 

I Love to Read and Review Books :) Copyright © 2012 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template