Oct 30, 2014

Don't Mind the Monsters

0 comments
Book Details
Author: E. N. Huffman
Release Date: July 2012
Genre: Children's Picture

Monsters can be scary...

They live in your closet and under your bed...

But these monsters want to share a message..

"DON'T MIND THE MONSTERS"

For they are there for one reason and one reason only...

And one little boy is about to find out what that reason is :)

CUTE BOOK!
FUN TO READ!
ESPECIALLY WITH A CHILD!

AMAZON | GOODREADS

About the Author
I could not find any information about this author. Please leave a comment if you know who this person is and more of their background. THANK YOU!

Oct 29, 2014

Bad Guys of the Bible w/ Giveaway

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Dennis Gaunt
Release Date: October 2014
Publisher: Covenant Communications
Genre: YA Inspiration

When Dennis was in seminary his teachers always told about the HEROES like "Abraham, Moses, or Peter."

But Dennis felt drawn to the BAD GUYS like "Goliath, the Pharaohs, and the Pharisees."

He knew that we could learn lessons from them of what NOT to do...

And so began his study of the bad guys of the scriptures...

"The guys who did things wrong, 
so that we can learn to do them right."

This book is TRULY AMAZING!

Dennis brings out SO MANY INSIGHTS I haven't even thought about.

Learn about Satan and his tactics in the chapter titled "Outsmarting the Serpent"

Read about "Public Enemy #1: Cain"

Understand why Nimrod wanted to build the "Dee-luxe Apartment in the Sky"

Look at some of the other AWESOME titles and who they are about:

* Sodom and Gommorrah, 90210 ~ Lot

* Clash of the Titans: Pharoah and the Magicians of Egypt

* More Whiners in the Wilderness ~ Lessons from the Exodus

* This...Is American Idolatry ~ The Priests of Baal, Demetrius, Annas, Caiaphas

* The Bad Guys' Guide to Love and Dating ~ Mrs. Potiphar, Amnon, Samson and Delilah

* Liars and Tyrants and Bullies, Oh My! ~ Goliath, Rab-shakeh, Sanballat

* And MORE

YOU WILL LOVE DENNIS' EASY AND FUN WAY OF TELLING ABOUT THE BAD GUYS IN THE SCRIPTURES!

DO NOT FEAR THE BAD GUYS ~ LEARN FROM THEM!
THIS BOOK REALLY IS WORTH STUDYING!
I ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND IT!


BLOG TOUR GIVEAWAY
$15 Amazon Gift Card + Book
Ends 10/31/14

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author
Dennis Gaunt has been an avid student of the scriptures for as long as he can remember. He studied history and English at the University of Utah. He taught seminary and institute in CES for a number of years, and currently serves as the Gospel Doctrine teacher in his ward. He and his wife, Natalie, live in Sandy, Utah.

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

ALSO FROM THIS AUTHOR

The Sweet and Clean Romance Collection w/ $25 Amazon or PayPal Giveaway

0 comments

I LOVE that these books are just like the series says... SWEET and CLEAN!

There are 4 books in this series with MORE coming~

Hearts in Harmony (Love Notes #1)

Elahna has come home to help her mother...and it doesn't hurt that her best friend's brother, the one with the smooth voice, is singing in the local theater.

When Elahna literally runs into Tim's car after a show and knowing that she cannot afford to pay for the repairs Tim suggest that Elahna come work it off at the theater...as the janitor.

Angry, but willing to pay the cost in labor versus money, Elahna agrees.

One thing happens after another and secrets spill out...and "Hearts beat in Harmony."

A CUTE READ!
Perfect to take your mind off your own troubles!
I LOVED this one!



And Something Blue (Main Street Merchants #1)

Laurie loves working as a bridal consultant...

But sometimes brides and their families can be difficult to work with!

When Kelly Reese walks into Millicent's Bridal Shop with her mother and her brother, Logan, Laurie is ready. 

Kelly and her mother are easy to work with...the brother not so much.

As Kelly is getting married in such a short time and will need a rush order...

Laurie has them sign a "no return" contract.

But when Kelly's wedding is called off...

It is Logan who storms into the shop demanding a refund.

As Laurie and Logan battle it out a love/hate relationship starts to form.

But which way will it go? 

ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS ONE!
FUN BANTERING!
GREAT TWISTS IN THE STORY!


BLOG TOUR GIVEAWAY
$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 11/20/14
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Waltzing on Wheels (Love Notes #2)

Meredith's brother, Tim and her best childhood friend, Elahna are getting married and Meredith couldn't be more happy.

As Tim's only living family Meredith wants more than anything to dance with him at his wedding.

But how can she when she was hurt in a car accident and now sits in a wheelchair?

Bravery, determination, and a stubborn will causes Meredith to seek out the help of the local dance instructor, Kyler Owens.

Kyler is hesitant...He has never seen someone in a wheelchair dance and doesn't even know if it is possible.

But Meredith has promised him the deed to his studio in exchange for teaching her.

Is it possible?

And what about the secrets from his past?

Can he fulfill not only Meredith's dreams, but his own as well?

This book will blow you away!
SO INCREDIBLY AMAZING!
Beyond words!


If you have never seen wheelchair dancing please watch Alex & Jacqueline...SO BEAUTIFUL!


For Love or Money (Main Street Merchants #2)

Morgan is a bank teller and a roommate with Laurie...

While she loves hearing all about Laurie and her escapades in love she is hoping for a love interest of her own.

And then HE walks in...

Max Grayson has just moved to Apen Ridge and needs a new bank account set up.

Easy enough...

Morgan almost feels guilty as she quickly asks the questions she would love to know personally:

* Where do you live?
* Where do you work?
* What is your number?

Of course she will have to forget all this information as soon as she clicks the computer button to be professional.

Morgan is more than pleasantly surprised when Max walks into the bank the next day and asks her out.

While on their date Morgan realizes she is in love...but it is not with Max...

See how this one plays out :)

FUN. FUN. FUN. BOOK!
SO LOVED IT!
COULD NOT PUT THIS ONE DOWN!


ANXIOUSLY WAITING FOR MORE FROM THIS SERIES!


Oct 28, 2014

Halloween Stinks

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Jill Caryl Weiner
Illustrator: Maria Stephens
Release Date: October 2014
Publisher: Mechanical Horse Productions
Genre: Halloween

I LOVE THIS BOOK!
CUTEST STORY!
PERFECT FOR HALLOWEEN!

Gus has a problem...he can't figure out what to wear for Halloween.

For you see his dad wears a "fish" costume for work and his mom wears a "chicken" costume for her work.

When Gus is at the dentist he realizes that the dental assistant wears a costume/uniform and so does the dentist.

Looking around he sees LOTS of costumes/uniforms.

So why is putting on a costume for Halloween something special if so many people put on a costume/uniform everyday...

Because of this Gus has decided that HALLOWEEN STINKS!

See how is friends and parents come to his rescue...it's a Costume 911!

A VERY CREATIVE, FUN TALE!
CAN'T SAY ENOUGH GOOD ABOUT THIS BOOK!
GRAB A COPY AND SHARE IT FOR HALLOWEEN!

Lots of special effects for little fingers to click in the ebook :)


About the Author
Jill is a versatile writer who has covered parenting, New York, sports and people for clients 
including The New York Times, New York Magazine, Time Out New York Kids and Mom365.com. She has written on a broad range of parenting and education-related subjects from homeschooling and kids playing chess for The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal to innovative educational apps and decorating a pregnant belly for Time Out New York Kids and Mom365.

Jill started writing about parenting after her daughter was born in 1999. How else could she do telephone interviews while her children screamed and set fire to the apartment?

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Oct 27, 2014

Bring Down the Rain w/ Book Giveaway

0 comments
J. Lloyd Morgan
Book Details
Author: J. Lloyd Morgan
Release Date: May 2014
Publisher: Pendr Publishing
Genre: YA Fiction

Starting at a new high school is hard, especially as a senior.

At age 17, Derek moves with his family from North Carolina to Utah.

Derek learns about the unwritten laws of dating in Utah, and that his mom and dad have a history at his new school—a history that threatens his future.

Set in 1986, “Bring Down The Rain” is a story of loss, grief, redemption, hope, and making life altering choices.

~ AUTHOR'S GIVEAWAY ~
Signed Copies of J. Lloyd Morgan's previously released books!!

Open Worldwide
Ends Friday 31st October
Enter Below & Good Luck !!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author
J. Lloyd Morgan is a bestselling author and an award-winning television director. He graduated from Brigham Young University with a degree in Communications and a minor in English. In 2014, Morgan earned his Master’s degree in Creative Writing. Morgan has lived all over the United States, but now resides in North Carolina with his wife and four daughters where he teaches college English classes. Aside from writing, Morgan is an avid reader. He’s also a huge fan of baseball and enjoys listening to progressive rock.


10 Unique Things about Author J. Lloyd Morgan

1. I have dyslexia and I’m a terrible speller. (Thank you spell check!)

2. I was born in the least populated state in the USA—Wyoming.

3. I’ve lived (not just visited) in seven different states, and in one foreign country.

4. My four daughters’ names all end with the “e” sound. (Kelley, Emily, Amy, Stephanie.)

5. I don’t like to fly in airplanes, not because I’m scared, but at 6’3” the seats are not comfortable.

6. I lived in the New York City area during 9/11—and could see the smoke from our house.

7. I’m not afraid to stand up for what I believe to be ethical, even when others get mad at me for “rocking the boat.”

8. When people ask me what I write, I say, “Books.” When they press me for a genre, I respond, “Whatever interests me at the time.”

9. My dream job is to teach Creative Writing at a university—I’m on my way now that I teach college English and have my MFA in Creative Writing.

10. Even though I’m considered a dynamic lecturer and engaging teacher, I’m very introverted and love spending time by myself.

Follow the Book Tour ~ Read the Reviews!!
The Book Stalker ~ October 15, 2014
Espacular Aiesa ~ October 18, 2014
Cali Book Reviews ~ October 19, 2014
Sanity is for Those Without Children ~ October 21, 2014
A Bit Bookish ~ October 24, 2014
I Love to Read & Review Books ~ October 27, 2014 - Q&A
Totally Addicted to Reading ~ October 28, 2014 - Interview
Manic Mama of 3 ~ October 30, 2014
Book Worm & More ~ October 31, 2014

Drone Games

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Joel Narlock
Release Date: October 2014
Publisher: Cedar Fort, Inc.
Genre: Suspense

OH. I. LOVE. SUSPENSE. NOVELS!
Intricate details have to be orchestrated in just the right way to bring the story together! And Joel Narlock does it extremely well!

There are so many key players in this story...

You have the terrorists, the ones trying to help the terrorists, the ones being used by the terrorists, the ones trying to capture the terrorists, and the ones being terrorized by the terrorists.

Technology keeps advancing and with it so do the gadgets...

A man, trying to better the world and space exploration creates a drone.

But when that drone is sold to someone with ulterior motives life as we know it becomes pretty chaotic.

When two planes go down within hours from each other the President has some hard decisions to make.

Does he stop all air traffic, which will devastate the economy?

Or does he keep the airways open and possibly risk more destruction?

And can the terrorists be caught before that decision has to be final?

"It’s domestic terrorism as you’ve never seen it before."

A FANTASTIC READ!
SO AMAZINGLY GREAT!
AND THE ENDING...JUST YOU WAIT :)


About the Author
Joel Narlock thrives on asking ‘what if’. He has interviewed the US Secret Service, top commercial airline pilots, and FAA and military officials about drones flying where they shouldn’t.

He was given a private tour of Andrews AFB specifically to evaluate an unmanned drone penetrating its perimeter. He walked the rooftop of Camden Yards Stadium in Baltimore specifically to evaluate a drone’s ability to target the pitcher’s mound. 

He predicts that drone technology and usage in America will increase dramatically, hopefully to benefit mankind.

He was born in La Crosse, WI and grew up hunting, fishing and raising a beautiful family. He’s experienced in corporate finance and small business management. 

He plays guitar and has performed in various local venues. He and his wife, Terri have two wonderful adult children and two wonderful grandchildren. 

He lives in Key West and took first place in Key West’s 2013 Mystery Fest Short Story Contest. He and his wife are active members of the Key West Sunrise Rotary Club. He enjoys an annual Canadian fishing trip with family and friends.

Drone Games is a realistic story about using drones for evil. By raising drone awareness, perhaps others will ask ‘what if’, and be prepared to stop those who might actually try similar tactics. And that’s a good thing.

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Oct 25, 2014

Crowned

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Julia Dweck
Illustrator: Beth Trott
Release Date: October 2014
Genre: Children's Picture

Julia has done it again...
This book is SO DELIGHTFUL!
And the illustrations are MAGNIFICENT!

Read how cute this book starts out...I LOVE the sing-song rhyming...

"In Fairyland, each loyal sprite
Helps choose a queen to rule the night.


A regal queen is much desired.
As noble leader, she’s admired."

Deciding she’d be great as queen,
Quinn wished for velvet gowns of green


To dazzle in the morning light
With gems and sequins shining bright."


And once Quinn is all decked out...

She learns that a king must rescue every queen.

So she sets out to find a king...

She kisses a frog, bites and apple, consults a mirror, sets aside a slipper...

But then she meets "the King of all...A gruesome ogre, wide and tall."

VERY CUTE TWIST ON HOW SHE HANDLES THAT SITUATION :)

LOVE. LOVE. LOVE. JULIA DWECK BOOKS!
This is one of her best...of course I said that about all the others too...
But this one really is DARLING!


About the Author
Quinn is a little fairy who dreams of becoming a queen. When I was a little girl, I wanted to become an author. This dream began as a tiny flicker of hope inside my heart. I remember reading my stories to anyone who would listen—even my dolls. Each time I shared one, I felt that spark to become a writer grow stronger inside me. You don’t need a prince or a good fairy to make your dreams come true. Stand up and conquer any nasty ogres who try to stand in your way. When we work hard and believe in ourselves, anything is truly possible. Come visit me on Facebook.

About the Illustrator
For as long as I can remember I’ve loved to draw. Growing up, no matter how busy I became or how much homework I had to do, I made the time to draw and paint. It was my dream to become an artist, and now here I am illustrating stories to share with you. Today, my dream is still alive, but now it has grown into something much bigger. I want to become an even better artist. Just  like Quinn, I am always setting new goals for myself. Belief in one’s self is the fuel that keeps a dream alive. Do your best and you will find the happily ever after you so richly deserve. To see more of my art, come visit me at www.bethtrott.com.

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Oct 24, 2014

A Refuge From the Storm

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Boyd K. Packer
Release Date: September 2014
Publisher: Deseret Book
Genre: Gospel Teachings

We are living in uncertain times...

In this book you will learn about the three things that will help us get through...

THE PRIESTHOOD
THE FAMILY
THE CHURCH

Is it any wonder that Satan is attacking those very things?

The gospel gives us the power to fight back...it is the plan of salvation.

The priesthood is by what power and authority we live.

The church is the organization.

The eternal family is the goal.

Pulling from Elder Boyd K. Packer's teachings you will learn how the Priesthood is organized and how it is to be used and what power it can bring to your life.

You will learn about the family and how we should be treating each other and how we can best support each other.

Finally you will learn how the church organization is there to help and how ordinary men and women can lead and guide us to safety.

We need not fear what is ahead of us.

WONDERFUL explanations of gospel principles and practices!
This book is POWERFUL!
So many insights!


About the Author
Boyd K. Packer, President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, has been a member of that quorum since 1970 and a General Authority since 1961. Immediately prior to that, he was the supervisor of seminaries and institutes for the Church. He is a former president of the New England States Mission.

President Packer was born in Brigham City, Utah. He served as a pilot in the United States Air Force during World War II and later obtained his doctorate in education from Brigham Young University. He is the author of several best-selling books, including The Holy Temple, That All May Be Edified, and Teach Ye Diligently.

He and his wife, Donna Edith Smith Packer, are the parents of ten children.

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)
 

I Love to Read and Review Books :) Copyright © 2012 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template