Oct 25, 2014

Crowned

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Julia Dweck
Illustrator: Beth Trott
Release Date: October 2014
Genre: Children's Picture

Julia has done it again...
This book is SO DELIGHTFUL!
And the illustrations are MAGNIFICENT!

Read how cute this book starts out...I LOVE the sing-song rhyming...

"In Fairyland, each loyal sprite
Helps choose a queen to rule the night.


A regal queen is much desired.
As noble leader, she’s admired."

Deciding she’d be great as queen,
Quinn wished for velvet gowns of green


To dazzle in the morning light
With gems and sequins shining bright."


And once Quinn is all decked out...

She learns that a king must rescue every queen.

So she sets out to find a king...

She kisses a frog, bites and apple, consults a mirror, sets aside a slipper...

But then she meets "the King of all...A gruesome ogre, wide and tall."

VERY CUTE TWIST ON HOW SHE HANDLES THAT SITUATION :)

LOVE. LOVE. LOVE. JULIA DWECK BOOKS!
This is one of her best...of course I said that about all the others too...
But this one really is DARLING!


About the Author
Quinn is a little fairy who dreams of becoming a queen. When I was a little girl, I wanted to become an author. This dream began as a tiny flicker of hope inside my heart. I remember reading my stories to anyone who would listen—even my dolls. Each time I shared one, I felt that spark to become a writer grow stronger inside me. You don’t need a prince or a good fairy to make your dreams come true. Stand up and conquer any nasty ogres who try to stand in your way. When we work hard and believe in ourselves, anything is truly possible. Come visit me on Facebook.

About the Illustrator
For as long as I can remember I’ve loved to draw. Growing up, no matter how busy I became or how much homework I had to do, I made the time to draw and paint. It was my dream to become an artist, and now here I am illustrating stories to share with you. Today, my dream is still alive, but now it has grown into something much bigger. I want to become an even better artist. Just  like Quinn, I am always setting new goals for myself. Belief in one’s self is the fuel that keeps a dream alive. Do your best and you will find the happily ever after you so richly deserve. To see more of my art, come visit me at www.bethtrott.com.

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Oct 24, 2014

A Refuge From the Storm

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Boyd K. Packer
Release Date: September 2014
Publisher: Deseret Book
Genre: Gospel Teachings

We are living in uncertain times...

In this book you will learn about the three things that will help us get through...

THE PRIESTHOOD
THE FAMILY
THE CHURCH

Is it any wonder that Satan is attacking those very things?

The gospel gives us the power to fight back...it is the plan of salvation.

The priesthood is by what power and authority we live.

The church is the organization.

The eternal family is the goal.

Pulling from Elder Boyd K. Packer's teachings you will learn how the Priesthood is organized and how it is to be used and what power it can bring to your life.

You will learn about the family and how we should be treating each other and how we can best support each other.

Finally you will learn how the church organization is there to help and how ordinary men and women can lead and guide us to safety.

We need not fear what is ahead of us.

WONDERFUL explanations of gospel principles and practices!
This book is POWERFUL!
So many insights!


About the Author
Boyd K. Packer, President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, has been a member of that quorum since 1970 and a General Authority since 1961. Immediately prior to that, he was the supervisor of seminaries and institutes for the Church. He is a former president of the New England States Mission.

President Packer was born in Brigham City, Utah. He served as a pilot in the United States Air Force during World War II and later obtained his doctorate in education from Brigham Young University. He is the author of several best-selling books, including The Holy Temple, That All May Be Edified, and Teach Ye Diligently.

He and his wife, Donna Edith Smith Packer, are the parents of ten children.

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Oct 23, 2014

Wayward: The Prodigal Son

0 comments
COMING NOV 7th


Director: Rob Diamond
Writer: Rob Diamond
Release Date: November 7, 2014
Rating: PG-13 for Drama,
A dying father's last wish 
is to bring his rebellious son back home 
and into his loving and forgiving arms 
and reunite his family once again...



We are all familiar with the prodigal son story in the Bible...but now with a modern-day twist it brings the setting closer to home.

How many of us, or someone we love, have gone off in chase of something that seemed better than what we had...even to the discouragement of those we love.

A son asks his father for his inheritance to seek a care-free life.

But life always comes at a cost.

Losing it all, and being hunted down by those who want more from him...

This son now must swallow his pride and seek the help of his family.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A brother is angry and cannot understand how this son could do this to his family...

A girl with secrets of her own lends aid...

And the father is patiently waiting for the son to return home...hopefully he will return before it is too late.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I was able to preview this movie...

It is rich in lessons...It also has some fun twists....

There is even a second story of redemption's love...so watch for that :)

I LOVED it and HIGHLY recommend it!

The acting was WONDERFUL and very BELIEVABLE!

An old story you will love once again in a new light ~


"Can a child stray so far... 
a father's love can't save him?"


Oct 22, 2014

Minute to Win IT Challenge Between Sheri Dew and Noelle Pikus-Pace

0 comments
TIME OUT FOR WOMEN

The competition heated up in round one of a 3-part MINUTE TO WIN IT challenge between TOFW Presenters Sheri Dew and Noelle Pikus-Pace at our event in Boise, ID!

Rumor has it Sheri has called for a rematch at our event in Salt Lake City, November 21-22, 2104.



CLICK HERE TO SEE DETAILS ABOUT TOFW 

Candy Canes and Christmastime

0 comments
Book Details
Author/Compiler: Linda Hoffman Kimball
Release Date: October 2014
Publisher: Cedar Fort, Inc.
Genre: Christmas

I LOVE these descriptions about the book:

"If the holiday rush has you feeling like you’ve been run over by a reindeer, this is the book for you!"

"If you long for a “humbug free” holiday, this is the book for you!"

"Enhancing the Holidays in the Real World"

And this book REALLY DELIVERS!

The other day I was having "one of those kinds of days."

Everything seemed to be going wrong.

So I curled up on the couch, grabbed this book, and disappeared into the world of Christmas enchantment.

My heart was softened, my spirit was lifted, and I was comforted by the One who is Christmas.

58 TRUE stories are captured within these pages; all about Christmas.

You will read about:

* "YOJ" to the world

* Holiday Shock Therapy

* Poor As I Am

* The Manger in Manhattan

* The "Funnest" Christmas Ever

* And SO MUCH MORE!

You will laugh, you will cry, you will say "I've done that."

And most of all you will feel wrapped up in Christmas love.

Also included are recipes, puzzles, and assorted patterns to make your Christmas more meaningful.

And as the author so eloquently put it:

"Merry, sacred, healing, happy, humble, joyful, yearning, hopeful Christmas to you!"

IF YOU ONLY READ ONE BOOK THIS YEAR...MAKE IT THIS ONE.
I HIGHLY, HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!


About the Author
Linda Hoffman Kimball is an author and illustrator based in Illinois and Utah. CandyCanes & Christmastime: Enhancing the Holidays in the Real World is the 5th compilation for Cedar Fort in the “In the Real World” series. This series on topics compelling to Mormon women, features the voices and experiences of a wide array of women “in the trenches” who candidly share what they have learned from the highlights – and even the lowlights – in their efforts to build Zion. She is a blogger with Segullah.org and writes a column for the quarterly journal Exponent II with which she has been affiliated since 1975. Her other books include humorous novels for LDS adults Home to Roost (Hatrack River Press) and The Marketing of Sister B. (Signature Books), an essay compilation Saints Well-Seasoned: Musings on how food nourishes us – body, heart and soul (Deseret Book) and the children’s picture book Come with Me on Halloween (Albert Whitman Co.). Learn more at LindaHoffmanKimball.com.

Linda Hoffman Kimball earned a BA from Wellesley College and an MFA from Boston University. She and her husband Christian have three grown children with marvelous spouses and three delightful grandchildren. She loves to travel, make creative messes, and consume dark chocolate.

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Because of Love

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Shauna V. Brown
Release Date: October 2014
Publisher: Cedar Fort, Inc.
Genre: Christmas

I LOVE CHRISTMAS STORIES!
Love. Love. Love. Them.

Tender. Sweet. Christmas Love.
Hope. Encouraging. Lots of Miracles!
This one is PERFECT for this season!

Byron Brown grew up in hard times and had to endure going without any shoes at all for a season.

So he sees no shame and no stress that his little girls have to wear big, heavy, ugly boots.

But when her little girl gets teased, Phoebe Brown's mamma heart takes over and she is determined to figure out a way to get her little girls some pretty shoes.

"New, high-button, brown shoes...one pair for each of her daughters" in fact.

Christmas is coming and Phoebe works hard while everyone is gone to make this a secret present.

What she doesn't realize is that a true Christmas miracle is in the making.

"Not all gifts come tied up with a bow."

Based on real pioneer events, this story will be a holiday favorite.

So. So. So. Delightful!
A quick read~ this would be perfect for neighbor gifts or to fit in a Christmas stocking.


About the Author
Graduating from Brigham Young University with a degree in speech and drama, communication, has provided Shauna V. Brown with many opportunities to use her talents. She has written and directed original plays and presentations for church and community. She has shared her musical talents, numberous scripts and presentations with pioneer trek groups for the past eighteen years. Shauna has equally enjoyed being a guest speaker and presenter at BYU Education Week, women’s conferences, firesides and community presentations. Shauna and her husband, Rick, are blessed with six children and fourteen grandchildren. For the past twenty-two years, Shauna has written an original Christmas story as a gift to neighbors and friends.

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Oct 21, 2014

TIME OUT FOR WOMEN

0 comments
Do you need a timeout?
COME TO 
TIME OUT FOR WOMEN


WHAT IS TOFW?
For over 10 years, Time Out for Women has been inviting faithful women to step away from the daily routine and make space for themselves and their spiritual lives. What started as an inspirational weekend event full of music, cheering, presenters, friends, and laughter has grown into a worldwide community of like-minded women seeking good. Whether they connect through TOFW.com or at a local event, TOFW women are choosing to be uplifted, reenergized, educated, entertained, and inspired with thousands of women all over the world.

Look who will be be there :)


 ~ Click on the pictures to find out more info about each presenter ~ 

FRIDAY NIGHT PROGRAM

Fri 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

AND I WILL BE THERE TOO...

COME JOIN ME FOR A TIME OUT


CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TODAY!


PREREGISTRATION PRICING (per person)

Through October 22, 2014
FULL WEEKEND (Group rates apply with 4 or more)

Section 1

$62

group rate

$72

individual

Section 2

$57

group rate

$67

individual

Section 3

$52

group rate

$62

individual
SATURDAY ONLY (individual only)

Section 1

$62

individual

Section 2

$57

individual

Section 3

$52

individual

REGULAR REGISTRATION PRICING (no group rate available)

October 23 to November 21, 2014

Section 1

$82

full weekend

$72

Saturday only

Section 2

$77

full weekend

$67

Saturday only

Section 3

$72

full weekend

$62

Saturday only

*PLEASE NOTE: if you require ASL or vision impaired accommodation, you must purchase section 1 seating and fill out the SPECIAL NEEDS REQUEST form for additional consideration.

The listed presenters are committed to attending the event: however, we cannot guarantee that illness, emergencies, or other unforeseen conflicts will not interfere with this schedule.

TOFW FAQ

Special Needs Request



PAST TALKS/MUSIC TO GIVE YOU AN EXAMPLE OF HOW GREAT IT IS :)









Come join the fun!

Take TIME OUT for HOPE and INSPIRATION!


Painting Kisses w/ Giveaway

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Melanie Jacobson
Release Date: October 2014
Publisher: Covenant Communications
Genre: Contemporary Romance

The detailed imagery in this book is AMAZING!
And so is the humor!

Your heart will also shatter along with the characters in a few places...

It's all in here...love, romance, humor, anger, frustration, hope, healing, etc...

Lia Carswell used to go by the name of Leandra Tate, a famous New York artist.

But when her paintings were sold to the highest bidder at any cost Lia realized they were only buying the paintings to claim they had one, not because they understood it.

And on top of that her marriage was failing...

So she ran from it all.

Back home in Salt Lake City Lia is a waitress at a local diner and is helping her sister raise her niece, Chloe.

Life seems to be content until they realize that the best school for Chloe to attend will take thousands of dollars.

How can they can come up with that kind of money?

Lia will need to paint again.

But can Lia put her soul back onto a canvas?

And what about Aidan and Griff?

This book will leave you sighing at the end!
SO. SO. SO. GOOD!


BLOG TOUR GIVEAWAY
$25 Amazon Gift Card + Book

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author
Melanie Bennett Jacobson is an avid reader, amateur cook, and champion shopper. She consumes astonishing amounts of chocolate, chick flicks, and romance novels. After meeting her husband online, she is now living happily married in Southern California with her growing family and a series of doomed houseplants. Melanie is a former English teacher and a popular speaker who loves to laugh and make others laugh. In her down time (ha!), she writes romantic comedies for Covenant and maintains her humorous slice-of-life blog.

10 FUN THINGS TO KNOW ABOUT MELANIE
1. I love roller coasters with a deep and abiding love.

2. I can't cross my eyes. When my kids want to make me feel bad about myself, they cross their eyes at me.

3. I love the beach but hate getting in the water.

4. I'm an NPR junkie. And This American Life podcasts are my happy place.

5. I keep a permanent supply of Dove milk chocolate on hand.

6. I always sneeze in threes. My grandfather did too.

7. We don't have cable and the only thing I miss is Project: Runway. But I realllly miss it.

8. I will always mourn not having been born a redhead.

9. I make really good Cajun food.

10. I organize the books in my home library by color. And it's awesome.

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Oct 20, 2014

Stars, Stockings and Shepherds

2 comments
Book Details
Author: Shersta Chabot
Release Date: October 2014
Publisher: Cedar Fort, Inc.
Genre: Christmas

This book is AMAZING and would make a PERFECT family read for the holidays!

"Discover the meaning of Christmas symbols"

Remembering that "Jesus is the reason" helps us to see the symbolism in the things we decorate the holidays with.

Look at some of the things you will learn in this book:

Did you know that the evergreen green tree which stands tall and remains green all year long shows us to be strong and firm in our beliefs and to look to Heaven in all things?

We decorate with lights because "Christ is the light of the world." Christmas lights remind us of this and of His spirit in each of us.

We wrap presents with bows to symbolizes the ties between families and friends and our Father in Heaven.

We give gifts just like the Wise Men did and to remember that Christ gave us the greatest give of all.

Why do we sing carols?

Hang wreaths of holly?

Sing of Santa and reindeer?

All of these things and more are explained in the wonderful, colorful book!

And most important of all you will see the symbolism as we decorate and celebrate with Joseph, Mary, Angels, and the Baby Jesus.

Let this season be more than a mere hustle and bustle.

Learn and then look at all the things that reminds us that this season is truly filled with our Saviors love.

AN AMAZING BOOK!
A GIFT TO BE READ EVERY CHRISTMAS!


About the Author
Shersta Chabot grew up in Utah, the oldest in a family of eleven children. After working for several years in both corporate and small business accounting, she returned to her first love—English literature—and completed her Bachelor’s degree at Utah Valley University while working as Acquisitions Editor for a local trade publishing company. Currently, she lives in Phoenix, Arizona with her three children, where she has taken on the dual challenges of graduate student and teacher of writing at Arizona State University. Shersta is the author of The Symbols of Christmas.
 

I Love to Read and Review Books :) Copyright © 2012 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template