Dec 18, 2014

Falling for You

1 comments

A review copy was provided.
Book Details
Author: Krista Lynne Jensen
Release Date: February 2014
Publisher: Covenant Communications
Genre: Sweet Romance

Following in the footsteps of The Orchard~ Krista Lynne Jensen breathes life into Elizabeth's story.

Elizabeth used to be called "the wild one."

But things are changing and Elizabeth has been offered a partnership at a quaint boutique in quiet Jackson, Wyoming.

Elizabeth's friend, Nancy, has reserved a room at a beautiful bed and breakfast for her and pushes Elizabeth towards the handsome man at the front desk.

Elizabeth is wary as her past still haunts her.

The handsome man, Ryan Brennan, has a past too and is raising three children on his own. The last thing he wants is to fall in love with someone other than his late wife.

But when Ryan keeps running into Elizabeth ~ literally ~ (fun scene)

And Elizabeth keeps falling into his arms ~ literally ~ (more fun scenes)

Their friendship grows...

But along with it also grows Elizabeth's doubts and fears.

Can she ever believe that "she is more than she thinks she is?"

A FANTASTIC BOOK!
SO RECOMMEND IT!
LOVED IT!
Will DEFINITELY read more from this author!


About the Author
Nearly every one of Krista Lynne Jensen's elementary school teachers noted on her report card that she was a "day-dreamer". It was not a compliment. So, when Krista grew up, she put those daydreams down on paper for others to enjoy. When she's not writing she enjoys reading, hiking, her family, and sunshine. But not laundry. She never day-dreams about laundry.

Krista writes LDS romance, and fantasy. She is the author of OF GRACE AND CHOCOLATE (2012 Whitney Award Finalist) and THE ORCHARD (2013), through Covenant Communications. 

She is a member of ANWA, Author's Incognito, and LDStorymakers. 

Dec 17, 2014

Picture Frames

0 comments

Look how amazingly stunning these PICTURE FRAMES 
are by Deseret Book Company...

This is the one I got to keep :)
Frame size: 5" x 7". Holds one 4" x 6" print.


LOVE LOVE LOVE this one! 
The lettering stands away from the frame for a 3-D effect
Frame size: 11" x 8". Holds one 4" x 6" photo and one 4" x 4" photo.


If you have a missionary then this is definitely one you will want!
Frame size: 11" x 8". Holds one 4" x 6" photo and one 4" x 4" photo.


SO MANY FUN NEW THINGS!

A Timeless Romance Anthology: Silver Bells Collection

0 comments
A review copy was provided

Six Award-Winning Authors have contributed new stories to 
A Timeless Romance Anthology: Silver Bells. 

These stories are fun and captivating. There is wit and charm and romance and of course a Christmas setting. Each has the distinctive flair of it's writer and they are pulled together in a masterful way. I am a fan of short, quick tales as life gets so busy for me. I love that you get 6 different stories all in one book and all for one low price! I also love that I get to read from my favorite authors while being introduced to new authors. Take a few moments and savor the season with these fun, sweet novellas.


In NY Times & USA Today’s bestselling author Lucinda Brant’s delightful novella, FAIRY CHRISTMAS, Kitty Aldershot is orphaned and forced to live on others’ charity. Offered a home under the generous roof of her relatives, the Earl of Salt Hendon and his countess, Kitty wants for nothing, not even the affections of Mr. Tom Allenby. But when Kitty stumbles across a letter written by Lady Caroline that reveals how Mr. Allenby would be ruined should he marry the likes of Kitty, she realizes she has been fooling herself all along. Kitty’s world crumbles around her as she recognizes she will forever be alone with no prospects at all.

Sarah M. Eden’s charming romance novella A CHRISTMAS PROMISE, Sean Kirkpatrick is trying to get to his new place of employment, Kilkenny Castle, in order to start as the new stablehand. His only requirement is to drive a team of high-spirited nags from Dublin to Kilkenny in a certain amount of time. Unfortunately he winds up in a muddy field, stuck, lost, and running out of time. He’s about to lose the job before he can prove himself capable of finishing his first assignment. When Maeve Butler arrives on the scene, Sean isn’t sure if she’s intent on rescuing him or bent on torturing him with her fiery wit and lovely dark eyes.

In Heather B. Moore’s enchanting novella, TWELVE MONTHS, Lucien Baxter’s best and most incorrigible friend, Will, dies unexpectedly, leaving behind his new bride and unborn child the week before Christmas. Will’s last request is that Lucien watches over Cora, not just as a benefactor, but as a husband. When Lucien does his duty and proposes to Cora, he’s turned down flat. But over the course of the next few days, Lucien discovers that marrying Cora wouldn’t be any sort of duty after all, but a matter of following his heart.

In Lu Ann Staheli’s sweet romance novella, A FEZZIWIG CHRISTMAS, Dick Wilkins and his best friend Ebenezer Scrooge have been looking forward to the annual Fezziwig Christmas dance for weeks. Ebenezer is practically engaged to Annabelle Fezziwig, and Dick hopes to start courting her younger sister, Pricilla. Once the dance starts, and Pricilla arrives, as pretty and charming as ever, Dick discovers that he’s not the only man vying for her attention. His best friend advises Dick that he has to win Pricilla’s heart, as well as her mother’s favor. Losing his heart has suddenly become very complicated.

A TASTE OF HOME, a captivating romance by Annette Lyon, we meet Claire Jennings, who’s on her way to spend Christmas with her family. As she rides the train with William Rhodes, who grew up across the street, memories of Christmases past flood her mind. He may be twenty-one now, but she can’t forget his torturous teasing from their school years. At the rail station, Claire discovers that her home is under quarantine because her little brother has measles. She's stuck in town, away from her family, on her favorite holiday. William stays behind with her, and as Christmas Day approaches and her homesickness deepens, she discovers that perhaps he has changed in more ways than one.

Becca Wilhite’s entrancing novella, MY MODERN GIRL, follows Margie, who lands her dream job as a clerk at Macy’s department store in New York City. Margie might be new in town, but she’s determined to succeed and prove to Henry that moving to the city was the right decision. As the Christmas season approaches, Margie realizes that being a “modern girl” might not be all she had dreamed of and Henry might have more to offer than she ever imagined.

Dec 16, 2014

Hope Rising w/ Book Giveaway

4 comments
Review copies were provided

Hope Rising
by Stacy Henrie

In France at the height of World War I, American nurse Evelyn Gray is no stranger to suffering.

She's helped save the life of many a soldier, but when she learns her betrothed has been killed, her own heart may be broken beyond repair. 

Summoning all her strength, Evelyn is determined to carry on, not just for herself and her country, but for her unborn child. 

Corporal Joel Campbell dreams of the day the war is over and he can return home and start a family. 

When a brutal battle injury puts that hope in jeopardy, Joel is lost to despair . . . until he meets Evelyn. 

Beautiful, compassionate, and in need of help, she makes an unconventional proposal that could save their lives-or ruin them irrevocably. 

Now, amidst the terror and turmoil of the Western Front, these two lost souls will have to put their faith in love to find the miracle they've been looking for.

Watch for my upcoming review :)



I am LOVING the OF LOVE AND WAR series!
You can read my review of Book One: Hope at Dawn HERE

A Christmas Hope
an OF LOVE AND WAR NOVELLA

I. SO. SO. SO. LOVED. THIS. BOOK!

Filled with love and romance and heart-ache and crushed dreams and teasing and determination and hope and healing.

TIS THE SEASON FOR SECOND CHANCES

World War I is waging and many women have filled in at the work force.

Maria is one of the first women to work as a bank clerk and she is determined to prove her worth.

She is also determined to bring the Christmas spirit into the bank.

Dale Emerson is now her new boss.

After being hurt in a battle and losing one eye, Dale has come home to take over at the bank.

But Dale has always dreamed of being a surgeon, not a banker.

Maria has the ability to see past Dale's injury and is as determined to secure his future as she is her own.

But when a medial school teaching offer AND an old girlfriend show up Maria wonders if all of her efforts have been in vain.

Now Dale must decided what he wants more...

A MUST-READ CHRISTMAS ROMANCE!


About the Author
Stacy Henrie has always had an avid appetite for history, fiction and chocolate. She earned her B.A. in public relations from Brigham Young University and worked in communications before turning her attentions to raising a family and writing inspirational historical romances. Wife of an entrepreneur husband and a stay-at-home mom to three, Stacy loves the chance to live out history through her fictional characters, while enjoying the modern conveniences of life in the 21st century. In addition to author, she is a reader, a road trip enthusiast and a novice interior decorator.


FUN FACTS ABOUT STACY

1. If it isn’t CHOCOLATE, it isn’t dessert.

2. I have a severe fear of heights, flying, and sharks. Thankfully we don’t encounter many sharks in Utah.

3. I am not a big fan of candy – I’d rather have a treat with substance, like cookies or brownies. The one exception is Dove dark chocolates.

4. The only time I knowingly read books with tragic endings is for book club! Other than that, I have to have a happy ending.

5. I think every good romance novel needs a kiss in the middle of the story – sort of a treat to the reader for sticking with this couple thus far.

6. I did acting in junior high, high school, and college – and loved it! Though I sometimes miss doing plays, monologues, and scenes, I enjoy “getting into the part” of my characters.

7. I wanted to be a writer since I was a kid, but it wasn’t until my oldest child was born that I finally wrote my first full-length novel. Which will definitely remain unpublished.

8. I have never read a Harry Potter novel.

9. I love good romance movies. But, to my husband’s great joy, I was raised on Star Wars and Indiana Jones, so I also like action movies from time to time.

10. I have the same birthday as my great-grandfather who was also an author of historical romance back in the late 40’s and 50’s.

BLOG TOUR GIVEAWAY
(US/Canada address only please)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Excerpt from Hope Rising
Evelyn lowered her gaze to the root she’d tripped over rather than continue to stare at her gallant rescuer. “It’s mostly Louis and Pierre who’ve been interested in reading, but they’ve caught on well.” She slid a few more inches away from him, finagling her feet around the gnarled roots. Breathing was difficult with Joel so close.

He shifted to lean his shoulder against the tree trunk. “Is something wrong?”

She pressed her lips together and shook her head. “Are you angry at me? For coming over to the group, instead of staying away like we talked about?” Evelyn flicked a glance at those hazel eyes.

“No, not at all.”

Silence reigned for several heartbeats, then she felt his finger beneath her chin. He gently prodded her head upward until she had to look at him. Her stomach flip flopped as she peered fully into his handsome face. Light fuzz covered his chin and jaw. He needed another shave. A strange, irrational thought that she must be the one to do it filled her mind.

“Are you afraid of something, Evelyn?”

You.

She kept the word sealed inside as her thoughts spiraled like a tornado. What if he didn’t reciprocate these growing feelings? What if he decided not to marry her next week?

There’d been times over the last few days when she thought Joel was beginning to soften toward her, even like her. She’d notice a lingering look from him or a smile, but they would disappear as quickly as they came and his manner would return to its usual, kind aloofness. Perhaps she ought to be asking him a similar question. What was he afraid of?

“I’m fine, really.” She swallowed hard. “Just a bit tired is all.”

Instead of releasing her chin as she expected, Joel lowered his gaze to her mouth. The rush of sound in Evelyn’s ears grew as thunderous as a windstorm.

Was he going to kiss her? Should she let him?

Yes, her heart cried.

She wanted him to kiss her, had dreamt of this moment She held her breath as Joel leaned forward. Closing her eyes, she waited for his lips to reach hers. Would his kiss be as glorious as she’d imagined? Or better? She felt his breath brush her chin, sending her stomach into another frenzy of flutters.

The sudden blare of horns dropped like a bomb into the quiet of the trees, obliterating their shared moment. Evelyn opened her eyes and turned toward the hospital. “More wounded soldiers.”

Joel straightened, robbing her of the warmth of his closeness. “Which means more surgeries.”

His disappointed tone had her hopes soaring heavenward again. Did it mean he cared? “Yes, it does. Will you watch after Louis for me?”

“I don’t profess to be as good a teacher as you, but I’ll try.”

“Thank you.”

She turned to go, but Joel caught her hand, stopping her retreat.

“Evelyn?”

“Yes?” She wished she didn’t sound so breathless.

Wished she didn’t have to leave him.

He released her hand to brush her cheek with his thumb, heating her skin with the tender touch.

“Good luck.”

Dec 15, 2014

Pierced By Love

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Laura L. Walker
Release Date: December 2014
Publisher: Bonneville Books
Genre: Drama

WHAT A FUN BOOK!

Noelle has just been dumped by her boyfriend...

But it gets worse...

The boyfriend dumped her so he could marry Noelle's sister...

YEAH! It's true!

Pierce comes from divorced parents and so he has commitment issues that label him as a player.

But for some reason Pierce fiercely feels the need to protect and help Noelle.

Not wanting her to drive alone he offers to take her.
Not wanting her to be alone during spring break he extends to invitation to come with him.

Noelle makes it very plain that they are "just friends."

Pierce is perfectly fine with that.

But when two people spend a lot of time together the heart creates a mind of its own :)

And slowly they are both "pierced by love."

I LOVE the play on Pierce's name for the title...very clever!

"Told with equal parts wit and charm, Pierced by Love will remind you that there is life after love, and that trusting your heart can lead you to unexpected places."

I thoroughly enjoyed this one!


About the Author
Laura Walker grew up in southern Arizona. She met her husband, Rob, at Northern Arizona University where she earned her bachelor degree in Elementary Education. She and Rob are raising their six children. Her hobbies include water aerobics and sewing. At the end of the day, Laura loves to curl up with a good book or write one of her own. Pierced by Love is her first published novel.

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Dec 13, 2014

Of Love and War Holiday Giveaway

2 comments

To celebrate the holidays and HOPE RISING's release next week from Forever Romance, author Stacy Henrie is giving away an Of Love and War holiday gift basket! Win a signed copy of HOPE AT DAWN (Book 1), a signed copy of HOPE RISING (Book 2), Lindor chocolates, a red poppy bookmark, and two vintage style tree ornaments.

To enter, tell her in the comments on her Facebook page if you have a real or a fake Christmas tree this year (hers=fake). Open to U.S. and Canadian residents only. Comment MUST be on her Facebook page!

Tell her Shauna from I Love to Read and Review Books sent you :)

Giveaway ends Tuesday, December 16th at 5:00 a.m. (MST). She will select one random winner and announce it on her Facebook page that day!


WATCH FOR MY UPCOMING REVIEWS OF:
A CHRISTMAS HOPE AND HOPE RISING

Let the Season In

0 comments

Every year the Mormon Tabernacle Choir ushers in the holiday season with a wonderful musical program.

Last December they were joined by world-renowned vocalisth Deborah Voigt and charismatic voice actor John Rhys-Davies.

The program depicted the work of Charles Dickens and the story behind A Christmas Carol and other classic Christmas tales.

There was music and dancing and acting and special effects!

Beautifully presented! A Christmas Tradition for many families!

Enjoy this small clip from the program...


Now you can watch and listen to the program again and again on DVD or CD.

CD
Christmas Is Coming
On this Merriest Christmas Day
The Holly and the Ivy
And there Were Shepherds Abiding in the Fields
"Magnificat"
"Et exsulavit spiritus meus"
"Gloria Patri"
Ring Those Christmas Bells
The Twelve Days after Christmas
Christmas Wishes Medley
A Russian Christmas Festivity - Polanise (excerpt) from Christmas Eve
A Russian Christmas Festivity - Dance of the Tumblers (excerpt) fromThe Snow Maiden
A Russian Christmas Festivity - Procession of the Nobles (excerpt) fromMlada
God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen
Coventry Carol
Luke 2: The Christmas Story
Angels, from the Realms of Glory
We Wish You a Merry Christmas

DVD
Christmas Is Coming
On this Merriest Christmas Day
The Holly and the Ivy
And There Were Shepherds Abiding in the Fields
Magnificat in D Major
Ring Those Christmas Bells
The Twelve Days after Christmas
Christmas Wishes Medley
A Russian Christmas Festivity
God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen
A Dickens Christmas
Coventry Carol
Luke 2: The Christmas Story
Angels, from the Realms of Glory

BONUS FEATURES (DVD)
Hear Deborah Voigt and John Rhys-Davies describe their unique experiences in performing with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir and Orchestra at Temple Square.
Backstage with Deborah Voigt
Backstage with John Rhys-Davies
Christmas "In the Air": Behind the Scenes on Flying
"A Dickens Christmas" full-length version

About the Choir
The 360 members of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir represent men and women from many different backgrounds and professions and range in age from 25 to 60. They reflect a medley of unique lives and experiences and are brought together by their love for singing and their faith. Their incomparable voices are the common chord that unites to form the choral group known all over the world as the Mormon Tabernacle Choir.

The Mormon Tabernacle Choir originated in the mid-19th century in Salt Lake City. As the Latter-day Saints moved west, Church President Brigham Young included musicians among members of the advance parties. Consequently, a small choir first sang for a conference of the Church in the Salt Lake Valley on August 22, 1847, just 29 days after the first group arrived. The origins of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir may be found in the desire and commitment of early converts to include appropriate music in both sacred and secular events.

The Mormon Tabernacle Choir has appeared at 13 world’s fairs and expositions, performed at the inaugurations of five U.S. presidents, and sung for numerous worldwide telecasts and special events. Five of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir’s recordings have achieved “gold record” and two have achieved “platinum record” status. The most popular was the Grammy-Award-winning 1959 release of “The Battle Hymn of the Republic” with the Philadelphia Orchestra.

(Review copies were provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Dec 12, 2014

Angels We Have Heard on High - Guinness World Record - ThePianoGuys Christmas #ShareTheGift

2 comments
This music video really touched me and I wanted to share it with all of you...
May this season be one of rejoicing :)
#SharetheGift

 

I Love to Read and Review Books :) Copyright © 2012 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template