Nov 30, 2013

Fight for You w/ eBook Giveaway

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Misty Moncur
Release Date: September 2013
Publisher: Eden Books
Genre: Historical Fiction

I LOVE books like this!
They are exciting and captivating to read!

They also help me understand the Book of Mormon better!
It brings it alive for me...makes me really see how it could have happened!
Then when I read it again from the Book of Mormon I can really envision it!

2000 stripling warriors...Helaman's army.

Young men who fought so their parents didn't have to break their oath of peace.

Ketruah, a girl, wanted to fight for her family and her freedom too.

She trains hard...
She works hard...
She endures remarks of not pulling her weight...
She can track and shoot and do whatever a boy does...

She goes on the marches...
She helps fortify the city...
She helps heal those who have been injured...

She also falls in love...
But she is betrothed to another...

You will read of spy missions, midnight assassinations, battlefields, retreats, and a young girls heart.

Sometimes "life's fiercest battles are not fought on the battlefield."

An AMAZING, WONDERFUL book!

Misty has graciously offered an
eBOOK GIVEAWAY for MY readers :)


Misty is also giving away a 
copy of this book on GoodReads
(ends 12/15/13)

YES ~ you may enter BOTH :)


About the Author
Between working and raising a family, Misty fits in writing like other people fit in breathing. Misty writes in the Romance, Young Adult, and Religious genres. She lives in Utah with her husband, her Wii-addicted son, and her curly-haired daughter. They spend a great deal of time laughing and the rest of it eating pizza.

(A review copy was provided. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Nov 29, 2013

Shine

0 comments


Book Details
Author: Justine Edward
Release Date: June 2013
Publisher: Balboa Press
Genre: Children's Picture

WOW!
This book is WONDERFUL!

CUTE with a POWERFUL message!


Karl Gabriel
"Shine is a children's book with a BIG difference. Designed to empower and encourage, this series of positive affirmations will have children smiling from ear to ear. Illustrated by 7 yr old Karl Gabriel who has been diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder, Shine helps all children to understand that anything is possible if they believe in themselves."

 "There is a light within you"...
you can do many things!

"There is a light within you"...
let it SHINE :)


About the Author
Justine Edward is a mother of three and an educator with over a decade of experience. Her passion is to see every child reach their potential.

'Shine' is her first children's book. Published by Balboa Press and available as an e-book and in softcover. She is already working on other children's books which she hopes to release in 2014 and 2015 respectively.

Justine lives in the land of eternal sunshine. She has a soft spot for chocolate (actually many soft spots for chocolate), beautiful books and the beach. She believes you only have one life- so you had better live it!

Follow her on Facebook at:
https://www.facebook.com/JustineEdwar...

Website
http://just235.wix.com/shine

and on Twitter
@JEd_Au

(A review copy was provided. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Nov 28, 2013

Give Books for Christmas Blog Hop

0 comments


Participating blogs are offering a book related giveaway 
and we are all linked up together so you can easily 
hop from one giveaway to another.

Hop runs from Dec 1st - 15th

MY GIVEAWAY :)
ANY TITLE from the 'FIND BOOKS BY TITLE' list 
at the bottom right-hand column of this blog --->

 Book or eBook for US
eBook for INT

a Rafflecopter giveaway

After you have entered my giveaway...
hop to another giveaway from the list below :)

Nov 27, 2013

Mormon Mama Italian Cookbook

2 comments

Book Details
Author: Shannon Smurthwaite
Release Date: March 2013
Publisher: Cedar Fort, Inc.
Genre: Cookbook

Do you LOVE pasta like I do? 
Do you LOVE the taste of Italian spices like I do?
Then this book is DEFINITELY for YOU!

Juicy Italian Baked Chicken~ recipe bakes in one pan including peas and potatoes :)
PEFECT!

Filled with wonderful Italian dishes (minus the alcohol :) hence the Mormon in the title. She has everything from meatballs to focaccia breads to truffles. She also has some really fun Italian facts and jokes with each recipe.

A couple of my favorites are:
Mama's Spaghetti and Meatballs ~ SO GOOD!
*Mangia che ti passa (Translation: Eat and it will be over, you'll feel better :)

*What do you call an Italian with his hands in his pocket? ~ A mute.

*If you don't like Mama's pasta ~ you need your noodle examined!

*Turkey is served on Thanksgiving...AFTER the manicotti, gnocchi, lasagna and soup.

Kelly's Pink Sauce ~ REALLY LOVED this one!
There is a secret ingredient that you would never guess :)
*Prom dress that Aunt Rosa made: $21.00 for material Prom hair-do from Cousin Angela: Free Turning around at prom to see your entire family (including grandparents & senile great Uncle  Antonio) standing in the back of the gym: PRICELESS!

DELICIOUS, AMAZING RECIPES!

(A special THANKS to my FABULOUS husband who cooks for me...pictures are from the recipes he made :)

Mama Gallo's Bolognese Sause ~ my favorite!
Not shown are Rosa's Sweet, Sweet Potatoes~ the picture didn't turn out and we ate ALL of them so I couldn't take another one...but believe me when I say they are TERRIFIC!

EVERY recipe we tried is easy to put together and tastes DIVINE!




"An Italian meal isn't just a meal ~ 
It is an experience!"


Chad's Famous Asparagus ~ LOVED these!
Romeo & Juliet Pizza Sauce ~ It really is TO DIE FOR!
Italian Fruit Salad ~ DELICIOUS!
About the Author
Shannon McClary Smurthwaite grew up in Los Angeles, California. The oldest of three daughters, Shannon loved spending time at her Italian grandmother’s side. She attended Cal State Northridge and BYU, studying art and design. She is married to Donald Smurthwaite, and they are the parents of four wonderful children. Shannon’s family happily serve as her official food taste testers and share their mother’s love for cooking and creating in the kitchen. She resides in Meridian, Idaho, and serves as her stake’s Young Women president.

(A review copy was provide. However, all review are of my own opinion :)

Nov 26, 2013

12 Gifts for Christ w/ Book Giveaway

0 comments

Book Details
Author: Merrilee Boyack
Release Date: October 2013
Publisher: Deseret Book
Genre: Christmas, Inspiration

Every year at Christmastime with think about getting gifts for family and friends...but have we ever thought about what gifts we can give to Christ?


This book shares 12 gift ideas we can give to Christ.

Each chapter is a different gift and comes with a brief introduction to that gift...

AND THEN you have been given, as a gift from the author, ideas for Personal Scripture Study, ideas for Family Devotionals, ideas for Family Home Evenings (includes songs, stories, games, and activities), and ideas for Just For Christmastime to help you implement that gift!

An AMAZINGLY WONDERFUL book!

So go ahead...choose a gift to give to Christ this year:

*The Gift of Personal Knowledge
*The Gift of Gratitude
*The Gift of Remembrance
*The Gift of Repentance
*The Gift of Obedience
*The Gift of Emulation
*The Gift of Charity
*The Gift of Forgiveness
*The Gift of Faithfulness
*The Gift of Love
*The Gift of a Healing Balm
*The Gift of Joy

Deseret Book has graciously offered a
BOOK GIVEAWAY for MY readers :)
(US Address only Please)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author
Merrilee’s story began as a fourth daughter in a good family in Detroit, Michigan. Shy and significantly insecure, she somehow knew she had something inside just waiting to bloom and blossom.

The day things changed happened in high school. Merrilee was in a skit about Cinderella in the school’s variety show playing one of the ugly stepsisters. As she stepped forward to deliver her single line, a magical thing happened. The audience laughed. Merrilee was transformed and performed a fifteen-minute spontaneous monologue that left the audience roaring with laughter. She was hooked.

Boyack went on to receive her degree in Business Management at Brigham Young University and her law degree at Santa Clara University. She married and had four sons – to her surprise and delight! She established her estate planning law practice—Merrilee-style—working part-time from her home.

Then Merrilee began to speak and later to write. She speaks and writes of her experiences, combining humor, memorable stories, and tender emotion. Of course, her first speech was about overcoming fear—something she had worked hard to master. And she writes of family. Her first best-selling book, “The Parenting Breakthrough”, contained all the practical advice she had learned through raising her four sons and it was followed by “Strangling Your Husband Is NOT an Option” combining her humor with lessons learned in her marriage.

Merrilee now speaks to thousands all over the country. She is a very popular speaker at Time Out for Women and BYU’s Education Week and speaks to all kinds of groups. And she continues to write – “52 Weeks of Fun Family Service,” “Toss the Guilt and Catch the Joy,” and “In Trying Times Just Keep Trying” which chronicles Merrilee’s experience with breast cancer. Merrilee added life coaching to her portfolio career and helps clients move forward with their lives.

Boyack has been politically involved and currently serves as a councilmember in the City of Poway. She has created a number of community programs for community leadership development, care for the homeless, and city-wide emergency preparedness.

Merrilee is truly a renaissance woman – wife, mother, grandmother, lawyer, speaker, author, life coach and community leader. And she has been reborn in the process. She is truly a loving teacher who inspires and motivates others to do good and be good and is committed to the rebirth of others.

(A review copy was provided for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Nov 25, 2013

Traitor's Knife

0 comments
Book Details
Author: E. Kaiser
Release Date: July 2013
Publisher: Hearth Books
Genre: YA Fiction

War, spies, secrets, refugees, adventures, jewels, a knife, and a strong female heroine...that's what this book delivers!

SO GOOD!
A WONDERFUL READ!

"When the loyalist cause enlists the mountain house into a weaponry, apprentice Fia is confronted with three refugee children, a disturbingly upstart former messenger, and accidents happening everywhere. Are saboteurs out to nix the weapons works... or is it the incognito crown prince they're after?"

Fia shows great courage and bravery as she steps up to do what is needed to help out in every situation...

Even putting her own life in danger.

Who can she trust?

And can she keep HER secret as her adventure as a jeweler's apprentice continues?

Read my review of Book 1: Jeweler's Apprentice

About the Author
E. Kaiser was born into a family of readers, and got started on storytelling around the age of four when her older siblings prompted her into recounting an absolutely ridiculous account of a parallel childhood. It was good for the family's general entertainment, and she discovered the thrill of making people laugh.At the age of seven her mother read the Hobbit aloud, and a fascination with beautiful fantasy was born. At nine she came to the decision that she wanted to be a writer, and set to reading rabidly to learn the art. At thirteen she attempted her first novel, and it was eaten in a computer's demise.
Afterward, during her teenage years she tried very hard at various times to stop writing all together.

Not succeeding, she at last gave in to her addiction, and wrote "for fun".

(A review copy was provided for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Nov 23, 2013

Christmas From Heaven w/ Book AND Christmas Ornament Gift Set Giveaway

0 comments

Book Details
Author: Tom Brokaw
Release Date: October 2013
Publisher: Shadow Mountain
Genre: Christmas

On Christmas Eve, 1948, American pilot, Gail Halvorsen (Hal), was delivering 20,000 pounds of flour to war-torn Germany in what was termed "Operation Vittles."

On this delivery his mind traveled "back six months to the day that had changed his life."

It was on that day that he saw a group of children...

He talked with them and marveled at their humble, grateful attitudes.

He offered them two sticks of gum and wished he had more to give.

An idea was formed...


Read this amazing book and find out how Hal became known as "the candy bomber."

WONDERFULLY ILLUSTRATED!
BEAUTIFULLY TOLD!
A VERY TOUCHING ~ TRUE ~ STORY!

Included with the book is the DVD of Tom Brokaw telling this story at the Mormon Tabernacle Christmas concert in 2012...

This is NOT the DVD...but will give you an small idea of what it is like:



About the Author
Tom Brokaw is one of the giants of television journalism. Anchor and managing editor of NBC Nightly News from 1982 to 2004, he also holds the honor of being the only person to host each of NBC News’s major news programs: The Today Show, NBC Nightly News, and Meet the Press. He has won several awards, including a Peabody Award and seven Emmys. He is the author of The Greatest Generation and The Greatest Generation Speaks, among other books. He and his wife, Meredith, have three daughters and five grandchildren.

Shadow Mountain has graciously offered a 
BOOK GIVEAWAY for MY readers :)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

INCLUDED in this giveaway is a set of 
Heirloom Ornaments (read about them HERE)


Biblical Names of Christ Heirloom Ornaments w/ set PLUS Christmas from Heaven book Giveaway

0 comments

When I received the chance to share these 
BEAUTIFUL ornaments with you 
I knew I just had to do it!

Each ornament has a biblical name of Christ on it:
*Lamb of God
*Emmanuel
*Bread of Life
*The Light
*Lord of Lords
*Redeemer
*King of Israel
*Shepherd
*Prince of Peace
*Mediator
*Living Water
*King of Kings


This ornament set is WONDERFUL!

*12 in the set
*3" in diameter
*antique pewter finish

You can use them to adorn your Christmas tree/wreath
OR use them as gift tags on presents.
OR use them for a 'Twelve Days of Christmas' countdown.

Scripture references are included, but hooks, twine, and tree are not included.


Shadow Mountain has graciously offered a 
SET GIVEAWAY for MY readers :)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

INCLUDED in this giveaway is the book
Christmas from Heaven (read about the book HERE)


Nov 22, 2013

Holiday Kindle Fire OR $229 Amazon/PayPal Giveaway

0 comments
Holiday Kindle Fire Giveaway


 Just in time for the HOLIDAYS - 
Win a Kindle Fire HDX, Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash ($229 value)   
  This is a joint AUTHOR & BLOGGER GIVEAWAY EVENT! 
 Bloggers & Authors have joined together and each chipped in a little money towards a Kindle Fire HDX 7".

The winner will have the option of receiving a 7" Kindle Fire HDX (US Only - $229 Value)



 Or $229 Amazon.com Gift Card (International)



 Or $229 in Paypal Cash (International)


   
  Holiday Kindle Fire Giveaway #1 Sponsors:
  1. I Am A Reader, Not A Writer
  2. Feed Your Reader
  3. Allergic to Life by Kathryn Chastain Treat
  4. The (Mis)Adventures of a Twenty-Something Year Old Girl
  5. Living, Learning, and Loving Life
  6. Confessions of a Librarian in Training...
  7. Bea's Book Nook
  8. Author Kary Rader
  9. Author Jennie Sherwin
  10. A Book Lover's Retreat
  11. These are but Shadows
  12. Tressa's Wishful Endings
  13. Author Lia Fairchild
  14. Author Helen Smith
  15. Buku-Buku Didi
  16. Truth Seekers Dare to Enter
  17. The Reporter and the Girl
  18. Author Terah Edun
  19. Young Adult Book Deals
  20. Diva Booknerd
  21. Jessica Loves Books
  22. Homebound Unlimited
  23. Author L.A. Matthies
  24. Author Janeal Falor
  25. Like a Broken Vessel
  26. Author Bonnie Blythe
  27. Author Bella Street
  28. Candlelight Reads
  29. Author Louise Caiola
  30. Kelly's Lucky You
  31. Author Elizabeth Isaacs
  32. Word to Dreams
  33. Kimber Leigh Writes
  34. Author Wendi Sotis
  35. ~Owl Always Be Reading~
  36. Fairie Chick's Fantasy Book Reader
  37. Author Talia Jager
  38. MichaelSciFan
  39. Author Charlene A. Wilson
  40. Every Free Chance Book Reviews
  41. MyLadyWeb: Women's History and Women Authors
  42. Darkmotive's Books and More
  43. Ketch's Book Nook
  44. Blogging the Beloved
  45. Book Lover's Life
  46. Kelly P's Blog
  47. Fae Books
  48. Lori's Reading Corner
  49. Author Kay Kenyon
  50. A Bookish Escape
  51. Christine's Blog
Sign up to sponsor the next Kindle Fire Giveaway: http://www.iamareader.com/category/kindle-giveaway-sign-ups

Giveaway Details 

1 winner will receive their choice of an all new Kindle Fire 7" HDX (US Only - $229 value), $229 Amazon Gift Card or $229 in Paypal Cash (International).

There is a second separate giveaway for bloggers who post this giveaway on their blog. See details in the rafflecopter on how to enter to win the 2nd Kindle Fire HDX 7".

Ends 12/18/13

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and sponsored by the participating authors & bloggers. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.   a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Gift of Love: A Visual Pun Book of the Heart

0 comments

Book Details
Author: Trina Boice
Release Date: 2012
Publisher: Big World Network
Genre: Inspiration

This is a WAY FUN book!

CUTE, CUTE pictures...

PUNS of LOVE....

All artwork done in HEARTS...

Just an amazingly, intriguing, superb book!

A MUST SEE/READ for SMILES!

A book you will find hard to put down until you have read and oh'ed and ah'ed at every picture :)

About the Author
Trina Bates Boice grew up in sunny California with her twin sister and even won 1st place in a Twin's Contest when they were 12 years old! She also has an older sister and a younger brother.  

Trina earned two Bachelor’s degrees (International Relations & Spanish) from Brigham Young University.  
While at BYU, she competed on the Speech and Debate team and  the Ballroom Dance Team, winning national titles.  She was President of the National  
Honor Society, Phi Eta Sigma, and served as ASBYU Secretary of Student Community  Services.    Trina currently serves on the BYU Alumni Board Las Vegas Chapter and the BYU Alumni Outreach Board.  She currently teaches as an online instructor for BYU-I.     

Trina also studied at the University of Salamanca in Spain, and later returned there to serve an LDS mission in Madrid. She also earned 2 Master’s degrees from California College for Health Sciences (Health Administration & Community Wellness Promotion) and received the Bernard M. Baruch Award from the Congress of Rehabilitative Medicine.

She worked as a Legislative Assistant for a Congressman in Washington D.C. and wrote a column called “The Boice Box” for a newspaper in Georgia, where she lived for 15 years. She has a Real Estate license, Travel Agent's license, a Ham Radio Technician's license (Ki6GZG), and a Black Belt in Tae Kwon Do.  If she told you what she really did every day, she'd have to kill you.  

Trina recently moved to Las Vegas with her husband, Tom, and their four wonderful sons: Cooper, Calvin, Bradley, and Bowen.  Even the family's dog, birds, and water turtle are all male!  With that much testosterone in the house, Trina was destined to be involved with the Boy Scouts of America, and she received the "Godsend Award" in 2001 for all of her service.  She is very proud of all her Eagle Scout sons!

In 2004, Trina was named "Honor Young Mother of The Year" for the state of California by American Mothers, Inc!  Her kids are still laughing about that one.   

In 2004, Trina was also named as President George W. Bush's "Points of Light Volunteer"   for her domestic and international service projects.  

Trina is a member of LDStorymakers and is the Entertainment News Editor for Bella Online.  She is a movie critic and posts weekly reviews at Movie Review Maven.  
She has been a guest speaker at conferences and conventions for businesses, schools and religious events, and she would love to speak at your next function!

(A review copy was provided for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Nov 21, 2013

A Fantasy Christmas

6 comments

Book Details
Authors: Stephanie Fowers, Cindy C, Bennett, Sherry Gammon
Release Date: October 2013
Publisher: Prose by Design
Genre: Christmas

3 ROMANTIC TALES OF LOVE AND MAGIC
in 1 FANTASTIC book!

Starting off with Halfing by Cindy C Bennett~

Half-elf, half-fairy, banished from the south, now working at the North Pole.

It's Christmas time and Kara has once again been assigned to the Department of Early Production. She had worked her way to Upper Fabrication in the South, but now she was starting over...literally.

For you see Kara has to keep her secret safely guarded.

Can she do it while working with Seb..."the most gorgeous elf she's ever seen ~ and the orneriest."

FUN, FUN Christmas tale!

Up next is Aphrodite by Stephanie Fowers

A wonderful regency romance made even more mesmerizing by the addition of a Greek mythology twist!

Aphrodite's daughter (Affry) is seeking love at the annual Christmas ball.

And she dances the night away with the one who shows her great affection even to the possible scandal of the ton.

But now the "furies of the underworld...are after her."

Revenge will be taken as "all is fair in love and war."

Can love be a weapon?

This one will leave you smiling :)

And then a GREAT ending with Loving Marigold by Sherry Gammon

Marigold is not like the others and they seem to find delight in calling her a witch.

She is also madly in love with Jack Mahoney.

But it is 9th grade and things like this are normal...and Jack moves away...

9 years...and a lifetime of choices later...Jack and Marigold find themselves back in their hometown.

As they re-connect and work together to rid a bad influence in the town they have to wonder...

"Is it LOVE or MAGIC?"

I LOVED this story!
I really LOVED LOVED LOVED this whole book!
Get in the holiday spirit with this MUST READ for romance and Christmas magic!


About the Authors

Stephanie Fowers
I'm from a family of ten kids and I tie for middle, but I don't have middle kid syndrome because we're basically ALL show-offs. To be perfectly honest, being the middle kid is awesome because I can be best friends with the oldest siblings and the youngest. There never is a dull moment. Life for me is a Little Women andLittle Rascals blend.

I've always had stories in my head. As soon as I learned to write, my pen took over the paper. When I read my stories out loud in second grade, my goal was to get my teacher to laugh so hard she'd fall off her chair. And it worked

I soon moved on to more mischievous times, and got my associates at BYU Idaho in English and (besides the below freezing temperatures), I loved the small town atmosphere complete with garage bands and pizza joints. Then I served an LDS mission in the Philippines. The people there have an intense past and culture that I want to write about someday. Their war heroes (and heroines) are amazing, and their people are so full of life.

After I got my bachelors at BYU (Provo) in English and communications, I almost went into advertising (I won enough Burger King crowns in my advertising class to encourage me)...but I decided to take the starving artist route instead. And now, here I am!

Cindy C. Bennett
I write contemporary YA, though I have a few books which dip a tiny toe into the paranormal. I have four amazing kids - two boys, two girls, and two great daughters-in-law. I'm married to a man who makes it possible for me to pursue this crazy dream. I live in Utah, have my whole life, and can't imagine living anywhere else.

I started writing a long, long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away . . . no, wait, that's Star Wars' intro, not mine. I did start writing a long time ago, that part is true. I can't remember when I started making up stories and putting them down on paper, it seems I always have. Then, in high school, I had an amazing English teacher, Mr. Bickmore, who really expanded my passion for writing. Every day as we came into class, he had a "ten-minute writing" assignment, which is exactly what it sounds like. I looked forward to that ten minutes each day like you can't believe. He taught me a love of pure, creative writing, and a love of great literature. (Who knew Romeo and Juliet begins with two pages of dirty jokes?)

Then at some point, YA became a popular genre, and, having two teen daughters, I found my house inundated with it. So I read many of the books, and fell in love with them. I mean seriously, who doesn't have a crystal clear remembrance of that time in your life: the awkwardness, the insecurity and drama - the flush of new love. A few years ago, I began writing Heart on a Chain, (the story of why can be read here, so I won't reiterate). And I found my niche.

Sherry Gammon
I began writing in the sixth grade, simple little Roses are red, Violets are blue type poems inspired by Highlights Magazine. Remember those from your childhood?

In seventh grade we studied poems and my love for writing bloomed. We were required to make a book of poems, some of which could be our own work. A few of my classmates saw my poems and asked me to write poems for their books. I not only enjoyed doing it, I discovered writing helped to clear my head.

Fast forward to college. I was thumbing though a roommate's high school yearbook and found a full page photo of a boy. I also noted that the yearbook had been dedicated to him. When I asked her what had happened, she told me that he'd committed suicide earlier that year. Needless to say, the story haunted me. I took a writing class in college the next semester and for one of my assignments I decided to write this boy's story. I had to create a story around what little I knew of him. Not only did my teacher love the story, writing it helped me come to terms with this random stranger's death. It also fed the fire in me to write, and I've been writing ever since.

(A review copy was provided for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Nov 20, 2013

The Emerald Ring w/ eBook Giveaway

2 comments
Book Details
Author: Dorine White
Release Date: May 2013
Publisher: Cedar Fort, Inc.
Genre: Middle Fantasy

What a FUN story of a girl, a BFF, a magic ring, a cat, an ancient queen, and an adventure.

Sara is an ordinary girl...

That is until she puts on the green emerald ring she finds in her grandmother's attic.

After that all sorts of magical things start to happen to her. She can hear things and do things she has never been able to do before.

As she confides in her Best Friend Forever and the new boy at school, she soon finds all of them trying to hunt down the thief who is robbing the houses in the town trying to hunt down the ring.

Can the three of them save the town, protect a legacy, and restore honor to an ancient tribe.

I LOVE the discussion questions at the end!

Written for middle grade readers, but can be enjoyed by all.

I am anxiously waiting for the adventure to continue in Book 2: The Ruby Pendant


Cedar Fort has graciously offered an
eBOOK GIVEAWAY for MY readers :)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author
My name is Dorine White. I graduated from Brigham Young University with a BA in Humanities. I am a member of the SCBWI and the PNWA. I write middle grade and YA fantasy. My first book, The Emerald Ring, will be published in 2013 by Cedar Fort Books.

My blog focuses on the kidlit publishing world. I write about agents, editors, publishing houses, literary agencies and writing advice. I also host book giveaways and do kidlit book reviews. The purpose of my blog is three fold- 1. I want to help fellow writers who are trying to get published, we can do it together. 2. I want to help promote authors and their works who've already made it past the first step, publishing, and are moving to the second, marketing. 3. I love books. I want to share that love with anyone who cares to listen.

You can follow me on TWITTER @DorineWhite.
"Like" my Facebook Fan Page HERE.
Check out my WEBSITE for a sneakpeek at my writing.
Contact me at dorwh@aol.com

Nov 19, 2013

The Ready Resource for Relief Society ~ Joseph Fielding Smith

2 comments
Book Details
Author: Trina Boice
Release Date: November 2013
Publisher: Cedar Fort, Inc.
Genre: Gospel Teachings

I am really impressed with this resource book!
I mean REALLY IMPRESSED!


This gives a teacher of Relief Society a plentiful supply of materials to supplement the lessons from the Church Manual.

In this resource guide you get for EACH LESSON:

*Hymn selections that correlate with the lesson.
*A brief summary of the lesson.
*Quotes from Apostles and Prophets
*Picture ideas to use from the Gospel Art Kit
*Church video suggestions

and my favorite part...

*it gives you OBJECT LESSONS to use to bring more understanding to the lesson!

But that's not all...
You also get:
*Ensign articles to use
Click on picture to enlarge enough to read
*Scripture Mastery verses to expound the lesson
*Correlating pages from Preach My Gospel
*AND a CHALLENGE to help the class members put the lesson to practice in their own lives.

And if that is not enough...
*There are handouts all ready made for you!

This makes teaching SO EASY!

About the Author
Trina Bates Boice grew up in sunny California with her twin sister and even won 1st place in a Twin's Contest when they were 12 years old! She also has an older sister
and a younger brother.

Trina earned two Bachelor’s degrees (International Relations & Spanish) from Brigham Young University.

While at BYU, she competed on the Speech and Debate team and the Ballroom Dance Team, winning national titles. She was President of the National Honor Society, Phi Eta Sigma, and served as ASBYU Secretary of Student Community Services. Trina currently serves on the BYU Alumni Board Las Vegas Chapter and the BYU Alumni Outreach Board. She currently teaches as an online instructor for BYU-I.

Trina also studied at the University of Salamanca in Spain, and later returned there to serve an LDS mission in Madrid. She also earned 2 Master’s degrees from California College for Health Sciences (Health Administration & Community Wellness Promotion) and received the Bernard M. Baruch Award from the Congress of Rehabilitative Medicine.

She worked as a Legislative Assistant for a Congressman in Washington D.C. and wrote a column called “The Boice Box” for a newspaper in Georgia, where she lived for 15 years. She has a Real Estate license, Travel Agent's license, a Ham Radio Technician's license (Ki6GZG), and a Black Belt in Tae Kwon Do. If she told you what she really did every day, she'd have to kill you.

Trina recently moved to Las Vegas with her husband, Tom, and their four wonderful sons: Cooper, Calvin, Bradley, and Bowen. Even the family's dog, birds, and water turtle are all male! With that much testosterone in the house, Trina was destined to be involved with the Boy Scouts of America, and she received the "Godsend Award" in 2001 for all of her service. She is very proud of all her Eagle Scout sons!

In 2004, Trina was named "Honor Young Mother of The Year" for the state of California by American Mothers, Inc! Her kids are still laughing about that one.

In 2004, Trina was also named as President George W. Bush's "Points of Light Volunteer" for her domestic and international service projects.

Trina is a member of LDStorymakers and is the Entertainment News Editor for Bella Online. She is a movie critic and posts weekly reviews at Movie Review Maven.

She has been a guest speaker at conferences and conventions for businesses, schools and religious events, and she would love to speak at your next function!

(A review copy was provided for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)
 

I Love to Read and Review Books :) Copyright © 2012 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template