Jan 25, 2016

The Matchup

0 comments
THE MATCHUP
by Laura L. Walker


I really enjoyed this book!
Such fun writing! 

Gage is known as the 'wild child'--
But his life comes to a chasing halt when he finds out that he has a son and now has full custody of him
(I will let you read about how that all came about :)

Valerie has two children and one is autistic--
Due to that fact and other circumstances Valerie is now a single mom struggling to keep it all together.

Gage and Valerie used to go to school together where Gage wasn't very nice to Valerie.

Now Gage is at her mercy as he chooses her to watch his son while he works.

Valerie hates the fact that she will be working for Gage, however it will give her the opportunity to be a stay-at-home mom for her own children.

Can they each put the past behind them and move towards the future?

An added bonus to this book is that you get to see a glimpse into Pierce and Noelle's continued story from Pierced by Love-- I loved that!

I also found it interesting that the author has an autistic child--making the story more enduring!

This is a book you are truly going to want to read :)

    

Younique Moonstruck Minerals Pigment Eyeshadow

2 comments
My friend Alina, from Younique by Alina, gave me some 
MOONSTRUCK MINERALS PIGMENT 
SHIMMER EYESHADOW
to review--

I loved the packaging! Such cute little bottles!

Then I opened it up and was even more impressed that there is a covering over the opening with holes in it so you only touch what you are going to use thus keeping the powder clean and safe.

Application was super easy--

I went a little conservative as I am a strawberry blonde who is quickly going gray and my skin is ruddy with yellow undertones--so I want to look natural instead of made up.

(SO WISH I had dark coloring and could really pull off the 'smoldering' eye look :)

I also choose a 'shimmering' eye shadow--

It went on as a golden brown that I thought matched my skin and hair color really well.

Look at the inner corners of my eyelid and under my eye--I felt so pretty!



But as you know-- My big question is always -- DOES IT LAST?

Every other makeup I have ever tried has either faded away or absorbed into my skin by early afternoon--Well not this one!

I was happily surprised when I got ready for bed that I actually had to take off my makeup--
YES! It was still there!

And as you can see while I am super tired and ready to quit the eye shadow is still going strong :)



Would I recommend this product to a friend? ABSOLUTELY!
Would I wear it again? ABSOLUTELY!
Will I get more colors? ABSOLUTELY!

See more Younique products on Alina's website --  Youniqueproducts.com/alinaeb


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Alina and I are doing a combined 
Younique/Jamberry party on Facebook
PRIZES WILL BE GIVEN :)
Click HERE to join in the FUN

Jan 21, 2016

Hohenstein

0 comments
A review copy was provided

HOHENSTEIN
by Didi Lawson

Anything but a typical aristocrat, young Baroness Marie-Louise is not afraid to roll up her sleeves and get to work, especially when it comes to saving her ancestral estate. Determined to shake loose the shackles of propriety and gain the warm family life her upbringing denied her, she has vowed to marry a man of lower rank. Blue-bloods need not apply.

But when she is forced to turn to a childhood friend for assistance, the handsome, debonair count may prove a temptation impossible to resist. Marie-Louise soon finds herself caught between the comfort of a middle-class doctor and the passion of a nobleman, with the future of her childhood home at stake.

My Review
WOW! I LOVED THIS BOOK!

I loved how Baroness Marie-Louise pulled me in and kept me reading! She is WONDERFUL!

And the things she does to keep Hohenstein--intriquing!

And the count will truly keep your emotions going--loving him one minute and being irked with him the next--

AMAZING writing!
Historical fiction with a delightful touch of romance!
See how it all plays out in this MUST-READ book :)

Jan 20, 2016

Jammin' Nail Lacquer

0 comments
So I have been wearing Jamberry nail wraps for about 4 months now and I LOVE THEM!

SO EASY to put on and then you can completely FORGET any upkeep! They outlast any polish by far--

But Jamberry also has a line of lacquers that I wanted to try--

Professional Review
Here is what my friend had to say about the product:

"I am seriously impressed with this nail lacquer! As a cosmetologist, I've seen my share of nail polish and I will admit- I have never seen a polish perform like Jamberry." -- Tiffany, Owner of Tiffany Johnson's Hair + Makeup

My first impression is that it goes on SO SMOOTHLY and it DRIES SO QUICKLY!!!

It is also does not have any of these ingredients.
Toluene
Formaldehyde
DBP
Camphor
Formaldehyde Resin

I have used this lacquer on my toenails before and it is FABULOUS! It lasted for months-- In fact I was "trimming it off" before it ever wore off --

But my fingernails are a totally different story--

I am super hard on my nails as I have to dig in cardboard boxes at work to pull out the incoming product. That alone would be tough for any polish to stand up to.

This is the manicure I did yesterday -- SO HAPPY with it!

And the color is GORGEOUS! This is only one coat, two coats or more would make it the darker color you see from the bottle.

Now for the big question -- WILL IT LAST as well on my fingernails as it did on my toenails?

It's now been 4 days and I'm back with my report--

While I loved the application and the feel and the quickness in drying it did start to chip on the very tippy edges of my fingernails in about 2 days-- so I touched it up --- and then had to touch it up again the very next day.

Would I recommend this product? Absolutely IF you are a polish wearer-- for the mere fact that is goes on so smoothly, dries quick, and doesn't have any of the chemicals found in other polishes AND it only chipped on the very edges and that is probably only because I am so hard on my nails.

Would I recommend it for toenails -- VERY TIME! In fact I put some on just 3 days ago :)

Will I wear it on my fingernails again? Probably, but not as often as I will wear the wraps.

(The butterfly pattern in my picture is a wrap and it stayed strong and true and would have held up for many more days.)

Click to see the complete Ingredients List
To see more color choices click HERE

Jan 12, 2016

Plant a Kiss

0 comments
PLANT A KISS
by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds

Little Miss planted a kiss . . .

One small act of love blooms into something bigger and more dazzling than Little Miss could have ever imagined in this epic journey aboutlife, kindness, and giving.

New York Times bestselling author Amy Krouse Rosenthal and award-winning illustrator Peter H. Reynolds have teamed together for the first time, creating what may soon prove to be a perennial favorite.





My Review
An absolute must-read!
---------------------------
Excerpt
Little Miss planted a kiss--
Sunshine - Water- Greet- Repeat
Wait - and - Wait
Doubt - Pout - Sprout - Shout!
----------------------------
See what little miss does with her sprouted kiss!
ADORABLE!
LOVED IT!

Jan 9, 2016

One Last Spring

0 comments
A review copy was provided

ONE LAST SPRING
by Sian Ann Bessey

Wales, 1884

The quiet village of Llanwddyn has long been a safe haven for Gwen, a young Welsh country girl whose life has been fraught with tragedy. Following the untimely death of her parents, it was her aunt's home in Llanwddyn that provided Gwen and her brother a refuge from their grief. Now, with the unwelcome news that the village is to be razed in the name of progress, an inescapable wave of change has begun.

When her brother departs to follow his dream of sailing the high seas, Gwen is left alone to navigate the shifting world around her. She soon finds herself relying on the support of her brother's best friend, Lewis, a gentle blacksmith whose kindness stirs her heart. Resigned to the fact that Lewis may never see her as more than a child, Gwen is soon swept off her feet by Thomas, a prosperous young Englishman. Torn between two men and two very different paths, Gwen has little time to determine what course her heart will follow. With time running out for her beautiful valley, will love come too late?

My Review
An intriguing look at the lives of the people in a small village--
Their passions, work, loves, heartaches, friendships, triumphs, and trials.
And what happens when a whole town sacrifices everything they have to help another area thrive.

I absolutely LOVED IT!
Be sure to read the end comments from the author--they really increase the specialness of this book!

Jan 4, 2016

Nominate The Soldier's Bride + $100 Giveaway

0 comments

Please go to 
and nominate The Soldier's Bride

You'll need to be logged into your Amazon account to do so. You can also read the excerpt of the first 6,000 words (about 4 chapters) or even have the excerpt sent to your Kindle to read, or you can just nominate it.

Kindle Scout is kind of like American Idol for books-- So now, you can visit Kindle Scout, check out books, nominate them, and if they are chosen by Kindle Press they will be published and at that time everyone who nominated that book will receive a free ebook.

The Soldier's Bride
A WWII music box holds a secret for his bride

As WWII ration cards and battle scars fill the country, Evelyn’s heart is under fire. It seems even love is rationed out to the war widow.  She finds a message tucked inside a soldier's music box with the power to change her life.

Don't die with me.

Words written out of love, long-lost but never forgotten.

This romance crosses battlefields and time as the music box touches the lives of two soldiers, a broken father, crippled child, struggling farmer, and a woman once called the soldier's bride.

So go and VOTE NOW  for THE SOLDIER'S BRIDE by Rachelle J. Christensen and then come back here and enter for the $100!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Rachelle's Writing Spot. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

Jan 1, 2016

Lee Has to Sop Eating Candy

0 comments
Lee Has to Stop Eating Candy
by Leela Hope


Do your kids have trouble with eating healthy foods?
Do they have a sweet tooth?
Everyone likes candy, but sometimes we eat too much of it.


Lee has to Stop Eating Candy is the story of a young boy faced with a choice.

Lee finds a bag of candy while his mother is outside. What should he do?

Lee’s choice sets off a chain of calamities for our hero. Will he ever be able to eat candy again?

The story provides a good way for parents and children to talk about the importance of eating right and can also be used as a good tool by public health professionals.

It is a great story for bedtime and can be read to the whole family. 

A terrific choice for early readers

My Review
I LOVE Leela Hope as you can tell!
And I will be honest--I actually got this book for ME!
I too have eaten myself into a candy trance once or twice :)
See what happens to Lee and what his mother does when she finds him--

It is the first of the year and I have made it a goal to stop eating candy--WHO IS WITH ME???

 

I Love to Read and Review Books :) Copyright © 2012 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template