Nov 29, 2014

The Christmas Code

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Ed J. Pinegar
Release Date: October 2014
Publisher: Covenant Communications
Genre: Christmas

Do you like solving codes? I DO!

Mr. G LOVES SHARING codes.

In fact on his door he has the code ...

16-3-5-10

And today's message written on a bright yellow card, in bold red letters is:

"Remember to be 22-18-1-8 
and 14-10-1-10-9-3-15-11."

Mr. G shares his codes and his kindness in hopes of redeeming himself from all the past mistakes he has made.

He is not getting any younger and he is hoping that his "small acts of service" will make amends before he leaves this life.

People now watch for Mr. G in hopes of receiving his new code and sharing a few moments with him.

Little does Mr. G know that a chain of events has been put into play that will bring his greatest hearts desire to fullness.

What a perfect Christmas gift for all involved!

This is DEFINITELY a MUST-READ!
Share the code! Share the book!

Mr. G's Color and Number Code are included in the book :)


About the Author
Ed Pinegar is a retired dentist and long-time teacher of early-morning seminary and religion classes at Brigham Young University. He currently teaches at the Joseph Smith Academy in Nauvoo and has served as a mission president in England and at the Missionary Training Center in Provo, Utah. He has been a bishop and a stake president and is a temple sealer. Ed and his wife, Patricia, have eight children, thirty-five grandchildren, and five great- grandchildren.

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Nov 28, 2014

Being Happy in an Unhappy World

0 comments
Audio CD Details
Speaker: Hank Smith
Release Date: October 2014
Label: Covenant Communications

If you LOVE John Bytheway you will LOVE Hank Smith!

Hank Smith loves to laugh and he believes you can laugh and still learn~

And YOU WILL laugh while listening to this CD!

But you will also learn ...

Looking back on his childhood Hank will share with you what he did during Primary and other times to enjoy the happiness of being outside...

(Hint...it has something to do with climbing out a window :)

He will also give you a list of what teenagers believe happiness is...very fun!

He will then go on to explain what the studies have shown about happy people and how they maintain that happiness.

Finally he will teach you 4 point from the scriptures that give us the tools to be "happy in an unhappy world."

Satan doesn't want us to be happy...but the Lord does!
Ultimately it is OUR CHOICE~

Will we follow the principles and tools outlined on this CD or will we continue to find satisfaction in being unhappy?

EVERYONE NEEDS TO LISTEN TO THIS CD~


About Hank Smith
Hank Smith grew up in St. George, Utah, and served a mission in California. He is the proud father of five children (including twin boys!), with an amazing wife, Sara, who has been his best friend since they met.

Hank enjoys running marathons and eating lots of ice cream, which is why he runs marathons. 

He recently published a chapter in the missionary series Armor Up and Suit Up and has published many other talks on CD.

OTHER TALKS BY HANK SMITH
(Click on the picture to get details)

Nov 27, 2014

Danger Ahead

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Betsy Brannon Green
Release Date: October 2014
Publisher: Covenant Communications
Genre: Suspense

Oh how I LOVE Betsy Brannon Green and her "Duty Series!"

Brooke Clayton and Corporal Hunter "Owl" Ezell have gone through a lot together...

And it has brought them closer together...

It is even possible that they have fallen in love with each other.

But Brooke is full of lies and Hunter is fed up with them.

Hoping to win back his trust Brooke vows to never lie again...

Caught between her new-found commitment and her old job at Joined Forces, "an illicit group of environmental activist," Brooke realizes she must take the deal and become an undercover aid to the FBI.

Hunter has promised to stay by her side and protect her at all costs, but can he trust her, let alone love her again?

Hunter's Special Forces team has been sent on a suspicious mission leaving Hunter and Brooke to battle this one out on their own.

But the plot comes full circle when Brooke and Hunter have to rescue his team as well as take on the "world of organized crime."

And time is running out...

SO. SO. SO. GOOD!
LOVED IT!

Look below to see the other books in this series...
SUSPENSEFUL! INTRIGUING! CAPTIVATING! FUN!


About the Author
I was born on June 1, 1958 in Salt Lake where my father was attending the University of Utah. After he finished his undergraduate work, we moved to Birmingham, Alabama for medical school. When my father graduated from medical school he joined the Army so over the next few years our family had the opportunity to live in several different cities, including Honolulu, Ft. Knox, San Antonio, and Colorado Springs. We finally settled in Decatur, Alabama where I met and in 1979 married Robert (Butch) Green.

I have always loved to write but decided to make a serious attempt at writing a novel during the fall of 1999. It took me 8 months to complete my first book which was later rejected by publishers. My second attempt, Hearts in Hiding, was published by Covenant Communications in May of 2001. Since then I have published an additional eighteen books with Covenant and have contributed to two Christmas books. My first self-published book, Pivot Point, was released in October of 2012.

I am very thankful for the opportunity to write books, but there can be no question that the greatest accomplishments of my life were - first marrying Butch and second - becoming the mother of the eight greatest people I know.

(A review copy was provided, however all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Books in this Series
(Click on picture to read details)

Nov 26, 2014

Wedding Cake

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Josi S. Kilpack
Release Date: December 2014
Publisher: Shadow Mountain
Genre: Mystery

The wait for this book is SO WORTH IT!
You will be frantically turning pages and biting your nails to see what could possibly happen next!

Sadie and Pete are finally getting married and Sadie is checking off the final things to do on her list when she receives a text from an unknown caller.

As she is trying to find out who the caller is she reads these chilling words...

"Didn't I tell you that you'd never be free of me?"

And with those words everything comes to a screeching halt...Jane is back!

Not wanting to give in to the threats and the fears from the past, Sadie and Pete try to ignore Jane and move forward with the wedding.

But when they find out that Jane has gone to great lengths to destroy not only Sadie and Pete, but Sadie's children too...

They wonder if it wouldn't be better to postpone the wedding.

Will Sadie ever get to say "I DO" to Pete?

How far will Jane go to try to stop Sadie from finding happiness?

It all unfolds in this final book of the "culinary mysteries."

A MUST-READ!
YOU WILL LOVE THIS ONE!
THIS WHOLE SERIES IS PHENOMENAL!
JOSI S. KILPACK IS TRULY A GIFTED WRITER!


About the Author
Josi S. Kilpack hated to read until her mother handed her a copy of The Witch of Blackbird Pond when she was 13. From that day forward, she read everything she could get her hands on and accredits her writing “education” to the many novels she has “studied” since then.

She began writing her first novel in 1998 and never stopped. Her novel, Sheep’s Clothing won the Whitney Award 2007 for Mystery/Suspense. Lemon Tart, the first book in the Sadie Hoffmiller Culinary Mystery series was a finalist in 2009.

 Josi currently lives in Willard Utah with her husband, children and super-cute cat.

(A review copy was provided, however, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

"IT'D BE A CRIME TO MISS THE REST OF THE SERIES..."






Nov 25, 2014

Amazing Grace: Messages of Hope in Scripture and Verse

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Angela D. Baxter
Release Date: August 2014
Publisher: Plain Sight Publishing
Genre: Inspiration

On New Year's Day 1773 John Newton shared his new song, Amazing Grace, for his sermon.

From that point on this song has become a beloved one for many people.

This book has been BEAUTIFULLY put together!

Interspersed with the words from the song are scriptures of hope.

Stunning pictures adorn each page.

Here is a sampling of the scriptures included:

"And he said unto me, my grace is made perfect for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me." ~2 Corinthians 12:9

"Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths." ~Proverbs 3:5-6

"Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid." ~John 14:27

"Lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen." ~Matthew 28:20

"The Lord is my strength and song and he is become my salvation." ~Exodus 15:2

"O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good; for his mercy endureth for ever." ~1 Corinthians 16:34

This book is breath-taking!
A MUST-READ!


Nov 24, 2014

Paladin: Pawn

0 comments
A review copy was provided

PALADIN: PAWN
by Micahel D. Young

This book is FANTASTIC!

Rich is waiting for a package...(love this scene)

What he doesn't realize is that he already has two other packages lying on his dresser that are from his grandmother.

As he opens the first package he finds "a white chess pawn with his initials engraved on it."

As he opens the second package strange things happen and a dark voice calls out a challenge.

Rich is so confused and not sure what is going on~

Later that night his grandmother goes missing.

After days of searching Rich discovers an unusual mural at the back of his grandmother's closet.

And in front of that mural stands a chess board...Rich tentatively places his pawn on the table.

With that movement Rich "unwittingly becomes a Paladin, a white knight, in training."

The challenge has now begun...

Can Rich complete the four tasks given him before "his Nemesis, a dark knight in training," completes his.

Wait until you read what his tasks are and who is helping him and who it might be that is trying to destroy him.

So many FUN SCENES throughout the book! 
This one is for the whole family!
ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!

About the Author
Michael is a graduate of Brigham Young University and Western Governor’s University with degrees in German Teaching, Music, and Instructional Design. He puts his German to good use teaching online German courses for High School students.

Though he grew up traveling the world with his military father, he now lives in Utah with his wife, Jen, and his two sons.

Michael enjoys acting in community theater, playing and writing music and spending time with his family. He played for several years with the handbell choir Bells on Temple Square and is now a member of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir.

He is the author of the novels The Canticle Kingdom Series, The Last Archangel Series, and now the Chess Quest Series. His also authors several web serials through BigWorldNetwork.com. He publishes anthologies for charity in his Advent Anthologies series. He has also had work featured in various online and print magazines such as Bards and Sages Quarterly, Mindflights, Meridian, The New Era, Allegory, and Ensign.


TEN FUN FACTS ABOUT MICHAEL

1. I am the oldest of eight children, and 17 years older than my youngest sibling.

2. I have lived for significant time on three continents: North American, Europe, and Asia.

3. I’m bilingual, speaking German and English.

4. My father was a pilot in the United States Air Force.

5. I have super flexible fingers—ask me to show you if I meet you.

6. I’ve appeared onstage in roles in over a dozen productions.

7. I’m a die-hard Dr. Who fan.

8. I like to write choral music.

9. I sing tenor II in the Mormon Tabernacle Choir.

10. I have a young son with Down Syndrome.


My Time Out For Women Experience

0 comments
There is something special about being in a room with about 7,000 other women...

Sharing a sisterhood that seems to radiate from each woman~ You laugh, you cry, you rejoice, and you bond.

Time Out for Women is a two-day event where presenters share their thoughts and talents.

This year's theme was INEVITABLE LIGHT.

THIS IS WHAT I LEARNED:

Noelle Pikus Pace
You have a CHOICE! You can either look back and feel sorry for yourself OR you can choose to move forward with faith.

We are torch bearers~ let your light shine! Don't be afraid to share your light through your talents.

Look forward with hope and stay focused.


Sandra Turley
We often pine for winter in the summertime and then we pine for summer in the wintertime. There are season in our lives and often we pine for a season we are NOT in..

Breathe in the season you are in~ Rejoice where you are at!

Sandra also shared her recent personal struggles with anxiety...very touching. You can read more about that HERE.

And of course she shared her beautiful voice!

Sheri Dew
We can live our lives alone relying on our own help OR we can rely on the powers of heaven.

How much help we get is up to us~ Are you willing to engage in the spiritual wrestle? We have to engage our hearts and our minds.

When problems come to our lives...and they will...the Lord needs people who will turn to Him instead of away from Him.

For every weakness we have~there is a counter gift.

Mercy River
Along with their vibrant personalities and wonderful voices of song they also shared this...



Elaine Dalton
What e'er thou art, act will thy part! You are a daughter of God. You were born to lead and change the world and you are not alone!

Be pure and virtuous. Stand up and say "it is enough!" Stop bankrolling anything that is not pure and virtuous.

Don't be afraid to be different.  Having the spirit of the Holy Ghost with us is the greatest beauty secret there is!

Emily Watts
It doesn't matter what your talent is...it only matters that you use it!

Take the pieces:
* It won't always be this way.
* Embrace the manna plan.
* Remember why you are doing what you are doing.
* Work toward making YES your default answer.
* Ask questions and teach children to ask questions.


Camille Fronk Olsen
If you dig into the scriptures deep enough you will find all sorts of women there. We can learn so much from them.

We need to be like the women in the scriptures...sharing our lives and our talents and our faith.

Fascinating details and images of where they lived and what they did were shared.

HOPE by Mercy River




Wendy Ulrich
Do you carry false hopes?

* Undoing the past~ Instead of wanting to change the past ask what have you learned and how has it made you better.

* Preventing trouble in the future~ The Lord knows the end from the beginning and He will help you through anything He asks of you.

* Certainty~ Know that the Lord will not fail us.

* Control~ When we try to take control we lose sight of the miracles the Savior is giving you in your life.

Kris Belcher
Kris shared her story of how she became blind and all the difficulties that has caused...and to be honest all the heartache and darkness. But Kris has decided that she must move forward...and she has!

I think Kris' biggest secret is that she uses humor! But she is also a GREAT teacher too!

Often when we have to go through a trial we say that we will "wait upon the Lord."

But does that mean we sit and wait on the couch OR pray that the trial will be removed from us? Waiting on the Lord is more than being patient.

A waiter is someone who works at serving others. To wait upon the Lord we must:
* LOOK UP to the source of all miracles.
* LOOK IN and know we can move forward.
* LOOK OUT and help others.

As we do this we will often find deliverance from our sufferings.

Josh Wright shared his amazing musical talent. He loves to combine classical pieces with hymns..SO BEAUTIFUL!



We were also privileged to hear the TOFW debut of a NEW GROUP ~ GENTRI 
Click HERE to hear their amazing harmony.
You can also get their single SILENT NIGHT on iTunes


AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE!

I had a WONDERFUL time with my daughter.
I saw friends from Deseret Book.
I reunited with friends from Salt Lake City.
I even saw my sister-in-law and her girls.

And to hear from and meet the presenters was delightful!
Click HERE to see pictures of me with some of them.

I SO WANT TO GO AGAIN!

You can register HERE to attend 
TIME OUT FOR WOMEN 2015

 

I Love to Read and Review Books :) Copyright © 2012 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template