Jan 31, 2013

More To Your Story

0 comments
This book is very intriguing!

I LOVE the sub-title:
"Discover the powerful experiences you're already having."

YES! All of us are having experiences...even powerful experiences...but do we acknowledge them?
  
I liked this statement from the book:
"Each of us has stories and we need to take time to remember them and then share them or write them down."

Then the authors share stories from their own lives to "spring-board" us into thinking about the similar stories in our own lives.

Thoughtful questions at the end of each chapter help us to ponder some stories we might write down or share with others... for there is MORE TO YOUR STORY :)

A Year of Powerful Prayer

0 comments
The back of this book says:

"Given the times in which we live, improving our prayers should be one of our deepest desires." ~ Neal A. Maxwell

And it is SO TRUE!

This book is a compilation of many authors and will give you great insight into prayer, why we need to pray, what to pray for, and how to understand the answers you are getting from prayer.

The book is divided into sections and is meant to be a year-long study of prayer.

I wanted to get a really good overview of the book so I read it quickly and learned SO MUCH.

But if you really took the year to study daily from its pages it would be so POWERFUL!



Jan 30, 2013

Dark Memories

0 comments
To be honest I wasn't too sure I wanted to read this book...

KSL stated:  ""Dark Memories" is the first horror novel published by Covenant or any mainstream LDS publisher."

While I am a lover of suspense. I am NOT a horror-liking person.  So I was a little worried!

THEN I did a little research...

Jeffrey S. Savage said this about the book: "the book is not “Texas Chainsaw Massacre” blood and guts. “It’s more like the scary movies I watched growing up … when the most terrifying parts of the story took place in your own head.”

I read the first chapter on Amazon...You can also find it HERE

I finally said to my husband..."It's put out by Covenant...so it can't be too bad can it?" And then I jumped right in to reading it...

SO GLAD I DID!

I couldn't put it down! The story is so good and so real and yes, the most terrifying parts take place in your own head AND beware they really do!

In the story mysterious murders are taking place...the only connection between the victims is that they were all lost in a mine during a school picnic when they were younger. One boy of the group did not make it back out of the mine.

And now it seems he is calling revenge on those who did!

It is SCARY..
It is THRILLING...
It is packed with SUSPENSE...
It is FAST-PACED...
It is MIND-BOGGLING..
It is AMAZING...
It is SO GOOD...

A DEFINITE MUST READ :)

Amazon * Deseret Book * GoodReads


Charlie's Girl Blog Tour

0 comments
About the Book:
Authors: Mary-Helen and Daniel Foxx
Release Date: May 2012
Publisher: Cedar Fort, Inc.
Genre: YA Fiction
 
Book Description:
Fourteen-year-old Rosalind has always been a foster girl without a past, until she’s sent to live with a long-lost grandmother in a house full of memories—and secrets. Soon Rosalind discovers that there’s more to her family history than she ever dreamed. Set in 1960s South Carolina, this unforgettable story of family, friendship, and faith is perfect for readers of all ages.

My Review:

WOW! :)

This book is IMPRESSIVE! The story is so sweet and tender....filled with love and loss, family and prejudices, hope and longing, truth and rumor, friendship and snubbing, death and healing.

I was greatly moved by the connection between a mother and a child, and a grandmother and a child of her child...for just as the book states Rosalind is Charlie's girl. A beautiful story...especially the very last line!

About the Authors:

Mary-Helen Foxx retired in 2009 after a long career in public education with the Peoria Unified School District where she worked primarily in library services and IT. She has written widely on genealogical topics and has authored four books on the histories of prominent Southern families. Mary-Helen was also a contributing editor for three years with “Georgia Genealogical Magazine” and has won awards for her writing.

Daniel is Professor Emeritus of History at Ottawa University in Phoenix and has been published in various academic and historical journals. He is the author of I Only Laugh When It Hurts (Reissued by Pelican Publishing Company, Gretna, LA, 2009). His latest book, Nathan Bedford Forrest: In Search of the Enigmawith Eddy W. Davison (Pelican, 2007) was a National Book Awards nominee, received the 2008 Arizona Book Award for biography, and was finalist for the 2008 Independent Book Publishers Association Benjamin Franklin Award.


(A digital review copy of this title was provided by the author for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Jan 24, 2013

A Royal Guardian

0 comments
Book Details
Author: Jodi Marie Robinson
Release Date: January 2013
Publisher: Covenant Communications
Genre: YA Inspiration

What an incredible way to instill the Young Women Values!

A princess is turning 12....
which is the age of the "guardianship."

She has been put in charge of guarding 8 values.

She is also given a bracelet from her father, the King.
And each night she receives a gem to put into her bracelet.

* White Diamond - Faith

* Blue Sapphire - Divine Nature

* Red Garnet - Individual Worth

* Green Emerald - Knowledge

 *Orange Fire Opal - Choice & Accountability

* Yellow Citrine - Good Works

* Purple Amethyst - Integrity

* Gold - Virtue

As she practices the value that each gem represents...

That gem grows brighter.

But what happens when she loses sight of the bracelet or doesn't guard the value?

Read to find out :)

From the Author
I’m a wife, of 23 years, and a mother of three daughters and one son. Our family enjoys being active, especially snowmobiling, wave-running at the lake, hiking, and walks along the parkway.

In my spare time I like to write. My published books, so far, include: Women of Virtue (2009), A Royal Guardian (2013), and Precious in His Sight--Seeing yourself as God sees you (2013). My essays are featured in publications by Covenant Communications, The Art of Motherhood (2013), With Wandering Awe (2013), and A Mother’s Prayer (2014).

In my community, I have volunteer taught, for 13+ years, self-improvement and motivational workshops to women recovering from substance abuse at a drug treatment center called House of Hope, and more recently at The Utah House for teens. I'm also a regular contributor on KSL's Studio 5 top-rated television show, sharing ideas on how families can SHARE, LOVE, and SERVE together.

Jan 22, 2013

Ginnie West Adventure Series Blog Tour

0 comments
 
About the Book~ The Secret Sisters Club
Author: Monique Bucheger
Release Date: April 2012
Publisher: Createspace
Genre: Middle Reader


Click HERE to enter to win for a $25 Amazon Gift Card OR a hardcopy of all three books OR an ecopy of all three books :)

Book Description:
Twelve-year-old BFF’s Ginnie and Tillie, want to be sisters. Ginnie's widowed dad plus Tillie's divorced mom could equal a lifetime of round-the-clock girl talk and slumber parties. Too bad Dad vowed to never marry again. Ginnie and Tillie form a secret club and come up with the perfect mission to change his mind: ‘Operation Secret Sisters’.

Before long, Tillie seems happier about gaining a dad than a sister. Ginnie suspects that Tillie has turned ‘Operation Secret Sisters’ into a scam called ‘Operation Steal My Dad.’ Things get more complicated when Ginnie stumbles across her real mom’s hidden journals. Ginnie can finally get to know the mother she doesn’t remember and Dad doesn’t talk about.

When Dad discovers she has the journals, he takes them away. Ginnie needs to figure out what the big mystery is before her relationship with her father and her best friend are ruined forever.

 

My Review
This book was good on so many levels.
First, it is simply a cute story.
But it is also a wonderful story of family and friends.
It wraps around your heart and makes you ponder.
And most importantly it touches the past and gives hope to the future.
A sweet story for ALL ages.

About the Author
Monique Bucheger was born in Landstuhl, Germany to active duty Air Force parents. After watching her creative writing teacher's astronaut son lift off in the Space Shuttle Endeavor, she recalled a promise to her teacher to write the books only she could write. In January of 2011, her first book made it through the first 3 tiers of Amazon's National BreakThrough Novel Award Contest to the top 5%. In November of 2012 Mrs. Bucheger was offered a 3 book contract for her Ginnie West series. Book one: THE SECRET SISTERS CLUB: A Ginnie West Adventure was published March 8, 2012. Her second book: TROUBLE BLOWS WEST: A Ginnie West Adventure was published April 14, 2012.


Mrs. Bucheger has championed the cause of children as a foster parent to over 120 children and her books embrace and empower people on all sides of the child abuse issue.

(A digital review copy of this title was provided by the author for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Jan 21, 2013

Dude, Don't Be A Lemuel

0 comments
This is one of the BEST YA Inspirational books I have ever read! 
Amazing thoughts!
Fantastic pictures!
True-life challenges!

This book brings the scriptures alive and makes it very easy to understand them; and how to "liken" them to our day and time.

Read this book if you are a teenager!
Read this book if you are slightly older than a teenager!
Read this book if you are a lot older than a teenager!
Read this book just for the laughter!
Read this book if you want to change your life!

The pictures in this book are SO GOOD! I just had to SHARE a couple of them!


How To Babysit a Grandpa

11 comments

Book Details
Author: Jean Reagan
Release Date: April 2012
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Genre: Children's Picture

Cutest book EVER!

Grandpa has come to babysit...

But who is the real babysitter?

The young boy has to keep his grandpa entertained, make sure he takes his nap, feed him a snack, play with him and keep him safe until the parents come back home.

FUN! FUN! story!

Best when read from the lap of a grandpa!

About the Author
I am a children's author living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I was born in Fairhope, Alabama, but spent most of my childhood in Japan.

Peter and I have lived in Salt Lake City, Utah for over 30 years. We started our family in 1986 when we adopted a baby boy, John. Two years later we adopted a baby girl, Jane. They shared a happy childhood. We camped, hiked, boated, but our favorite thing to do was to read stacks and stacks of library books together. Since the summer of 2000, my husband and I have served as seasonal backcountry volunteers in Grand Teton National Park.




ALSO AVAILABLE - How to Babysit a Grandma

Jan 19, 2013

Armor Up!

2 comments
If you have a teenager in your life you will WANT them to READ this book :)

If you are a teenager at heart YOU will WANT to READ this book :)

Six POWERFUL authors have come together to talk about putting on the armor of God.

Each author takes a different part of the armor and elaborates on it.


The chapters are:

"The Loincloth that Counts" by Brad Wilcox
"A Bulletproof Breastplate" by John Hilton III
"Put On Your Gospel Shoes" by Anthony Sweat
"Shields Up!" by John Bytheway
"Strap On Your Helmet" by Hank Smith
"Your Spiritual Sword" by Laurel Christensen

And just like the knights of old these author have come together in a "video round table" to share with you even more.

The videos can be found at http://seek.deseretbook.com/john-bytheway-armor/i

I have included the video for STRAP ON YOUR HELMET

This is a book you will not want to miss out on!




Jan 17, 2013

Dreaming of Books Giveaway Hop

11 comments

 
Participating blogs are offering a book related giveaway
and we are all linked up together so you can easily
hop from one giveaway to another.

The hop runs from Jan 18th - Jan 24th

My Giveaway Details:
1- $25 Amazon.com Gift Card
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

After you have entered my giveaway...
hop to another giveaway from the list below :)
 
 

 
 

Jan 16, 2013

Change the World Before Bedtime

1 comments

What will you do today to make the world a better place before you go to bed?
There is SO MUCH good we can do each day.
There are SO MANY possibilities of what we can become.

This book gives you wonderful thoughts and ideas of what you can do today to make someone happy and in the process change the world.
Can we change the world before bedtime?
Cute, cute illustrations and a wonderful message!


(A digital review copy of this title was provided by the author for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Finished Being Fat Blog Tour

0 comments

About the Book
Author: Betsy Schow
Release Date: January 2013        
Publisher: Cedar Fort Books
Genre: Self-Help


Book Description

Not everyone can win the race, but everyone can finish it. In her quest to wish away an extra 75 pounds, Betsy changed her life for good. Using her Philosophy of Finishing, she snowballed her efforts from weight loss into a bucket list of seemingly impossible dreams. This inspiring account of one woman’s journey will help you find the strength to conquer your most daunting goals and unfinished projects.

My Review
This book is not about dieting...
Although it is helping me re-think my eating plan.

This book is not about exercising...
Although Betsy uses her exercise adventure to relate her story.

This book is about setting goals and then seeing them through to the FINISH!

I laughed out loud and for a long while over the part in the book where Betsy tells where she has a hate/more hate relationship with the scales.

On morning she steps on the scales, sees the number, and then steps off again.
THEN thinking that the scales might have changed its mind she steps on AGAIN.
ONLY to find out that she has now gained another .2 pounds!

I have SO BEEN THERE myself!

Betsy's insight on WHY she has gained the weight rings so clear with me.
And how many projects have I left because I was a "starter" not a "finisher."

Filled with humor and honesty this book will wrap around your heart and make you want to be a better person.

About the Author
Betsy Schow accidentally changed her life while trying to wish away her fat. After losing seventy-five pounds in a year, this stay-at-home mother of two and “former fat person” is now a “finisher.” She lives in northern Utah with her husband and attempts to keep her two small children in line while writing, training for the next marathon, and finishing up a BA in Behavioral Science and English. To find out more on Finished Being Fat and author Betsy Schow, visit: http://www.betsyschow.com/.

Follow along below with one of her yoga sessions :)




(A digital review copy of this title was provided by the author for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Texting Through Time: John Taylor and the Mystery Puzzle

0 comments
What a FUN concept!

Micah and Alicia have a really, really smart phone.

In fact this phone is so smart that with a push of the PAST, PRESENT or FUTURE screen Micah and Alicia can time-travel.

Time and place this trip?

John Taylor, Third Prophet of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Boyhood.

With that Micah and Alicia are swirled back in time to when John Taylor was a boy.

Their adventure continues on through John Taylor's lifetime and the many things he accomplished.

Each time they "travel" with President Taylor the phone requires them to "text" their journal of the experience back home.

The only glitch with the phone...they must solve a puzzle by taking pictures at different times of their journey before they can go back home.

This book has wonderful illustrations of the different pictures and how they fit into the puzzle.

Wonderful way to re-tell the life of a prophet especially in today's technology-filled world.


(A digital review copy of this title was provided by the author for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Eat Your Peas Faithfully, Love Mom

0 comments
This is a "3-minute forever book" filled with cute, sweet sayings from a mom to a child.

A couple of my favorites:

"The day you were born...
God smiled!"

"I have faith in you!"

"Forgiveness is a gift...
And it is For - giving!"

"Be on the lookout for God's surprises."

Scriptures sprinkled throughout makes this book a perfect read...

Especially one to be shared with a child.

Jan 15, 2013

A Ginnie West Adventure Series Book Blast AND Giveaway

0 comments
THE SECRET SISTERS CLUB: A Ginnie West Adventure (BOOK 1)

Blurb:
 Twelve-year-old BFF’s Ginnie and Tillie, want to be sisters. Ginnie's widowed dad plus Tillie's divorced mom could equal a lifetime of round-the-clock girl talk and slumber parties. Too bad Dad vowed to never marry again. Ginnie and Tillie form a secret club and come up with the perfect mission to change his mind: ‘Operation Secret Sisters’.

Before long, Tillie seems happier about gaining a dad than a sister. Ginnie suspects that Tillie has turned ‘Operation Secret Sisters’ into a scam called ‘Operation Steal My Dad.’  Things get more complicated when Ginnie stumbles across her real mom’s hidden journals. Ginnie can finally get to know the mother she doesn’t remember and Dad doesn’t talk about.

When Dad discovers she has the journals, he takes them away. Ginnie needs to figure out what the big mystery is before her relationship with her father and her best friend are ruined forever.


If you like farms, friends, horses, and secrets, you’ll love: Trouble Blows West: A Ginnie West Adventure.  So saddle up and be ready to ride with Ginnie as she explores the true meaning of friendship ~~ Debbie Shakespeare Smith, middle-grade author of The House of Chicken

TROUBLE BLOWS WEST: A Ginnie West Adventure (BOOK 2)

Blurb:
Putting her body in motion before her brain is in gear creates a mountain of problems for 12 year-old Ginnie West. She is certain that defending her twin brother, Toran, from the biggest bully in sixth grade was the right thing to do. But Ginnie couldn’t be more wrong.

She quickly figures out that Toran doesn’t appreciate being rescued by a girl any better than Charlie likes being knocked down by one. When Charlie seeks revenge on Ginnie, Toran sets aside his anger and helps her plot a playback prank at Charlie’s house.

Sadly, Ginnie learns that Charlie has a reason for being a bully when she sees his dad drop him to the floor like a ragdoll with one awful blow to the chest. Realizing he's a boy in big trouble, Ginnie switches gears and decides to be his ally, even if he won’t let her be his friend.
 
I loved this book! I didn’t know a book without zombies could be good! 15 yr-old Amanda



SIMPLY WEST OF HEAVEN: A Ginnie West Adventure: (BOOK 3)

BLURB:
Twelve year-old Ginnie and her BFF, Tillie, schemed to get Ginnie’s widowed dad to fall in love with Tillie’s divorced mom. It worked. But before they could become ‘for real’ sisters, Ginnie stumbled across her dead mom’s journals. Which was totally awesome sauce… until her dad took them away and won’t tell her why. Now all their plans are starting to unravel.

If that’s not bad enough, Ginnie’s favorite uncle drops the mother of all bombshells and leaves her in a maze of uncertainty. While her head is still spinning from that news,  a blast from her late mother’s past shows up and makes Tillie goes nutburgers. Ginnie realizes her best friend has her own agenda and Tillie’s plans to merge their families may not be so innocent.
SIMPLY WEST OF HEAVEN is a contemporary MG novel that follows Ginnie West as she tries to make sense of one too many curve balls tossed her way in the most pivotal summer of her life. 


      a Rafflecopter giveaway
Would you like an autographed, personalized copy? 
Visit Monique's page here to order:


Social networking links: 


Author bio:

Monique Bucheger was born in Landstuhl, Germany to active duty Air Force parents. After watching her creative writing teacher's astronaut son lift off in the Space Shuttle Endeavor, she recalled a promise to her teacher to write the books only she could write. In January of 2011, her first book made it through the first 3 tiers of Amazon's National BreakThrough Novel Award Contest to the top 5%. In November of 2012 Mrs. Bucheger was offered a 3 book contract for her Ginnie West series. Book one: THE SECRET SISTERS CLUB: A Ginnie West Adventure was published March 8, 2012. Her second book: TROUBLE BLOWS WEST: A Ginnie West Adventure was published April 14, 2012. 
Mrs. Bucheger has championed the cause of children as a foster parent to over 120 children and her books embrace and empower people on all sides of the child abuse issue.
 
 


Blog Tour Schedule for Ginnie West Adventure Series
by Monique Bucheger

12/13/2012    http://www.dorinewhite.blogspot.com/2012/12/monique-bucheger-interview-with-author.html#more
12/19/2012    http://iamareadernotawriter.blogspot.com/2012/12/the-secret-sisters-club-by-monique.html
   
12/21/2012    http://lisaisabookworm.blogspot.com/2012/12/the-secret-sisters-club-by-monique.html
12/28/2012    http://thethingsilovemost.blogspot.com/2012/12/ginnie-west-adventures-by-monique.htmlv
12/31/2012  http://mybookaday.blogspot.com/2012/12/the-secret-sisters-club.html
1/2/2013   http://mybookaday.blogspot.com/2013/01/blog-tour-secret-sisters-club-and.html
1/7/2013    http://www.bradenbell.com/bradens-blog.html
1/8/2013    cindymhogan.blogspot.com
1/9/2013    http://blog.juliereece.com/
1/11/2013    http://valeriesteimle.blogspot.com
1/12/2013   www.astorybookworld.blogspot.com
1/14/2013    www.ordinaryhappilyeverafter.com
1/15/2013    www.tristipinkston.blogspot.com
1/16/2013    http://www.kimberleygriffithslittle.blogspot.com/
1/18/2013    http://gettingyourreadonaimeebrown.blogspot.com/
1/21/2013    http://www.karen-hoover.blogspot.com/
1/22/2013    http://ilovetoreadandreviewbooks.blogspot.com/
1/23/2013    http://whynotbecauseisaidso.blogspot.com/
1/23/2013   http://www.ldswomensbookreview.com/wordpress/
1/24/2013   
1/25/2013   
1/28/2013   
1/29/2013    http://bonnieharris.blogspot.com/
1/30/2013    http://rachellewrites.blogspot.com/
1/31/2013    www.jlloydmorgan.com
1/31/2013    http://cranberryfries.blogspot.com/
2/1/2013    http://kbrebes.blogspot.com/
   
 

Jan 14, 2013

Dead Running & Dying To Run Blog Tour

3 comments
 
Be sure to read clear to the end
and enter for a
$20 Amazon Gift Card or PayPal Cash

3 Sets of iFrogz Earbuds & Armbands


Cami Checketts in an AMAZING author!
Dead Running was my VERY FIRST BLOG POST...
The book was SO GOOD I wanted to tell EVERYONE about it...
And from that one post...my blog has taken off :)
To read my review of Dead Running click HERE

Dying to Run
Author: Cami Checketets
Release Date: Oct 2012
Publisher: Birch River
Genre: Romantic Suspense

Book Description:
Cassidy Christensen wants to run.
Captured by the traffickers who killed her mother, her only hope is Dr. Tattoo, a man she loves but nobody trusts. When she finally gets a chance to run, someone else she cares about is taken. Running might be her only chance at survival, but she won’t allow another family member to be killed in her place.

This must-read sequel to Dead Running will have you laughing, biting your nails, and hoping for more.

My Review:
It has been two weeks since someone has tried to kill Cassidy...and now they are back!
Again this book grabs you with the action starting on page ONE...the action is non-stop...SO GOOD!
Splashes of romance create a reprieve from the action...but can Cassie really love the man she thought she loved after seeing what he is capable of doing?
It's true... this book will have you "laughing, biting your nails, and (definitely) hoping for more."


About the Author:
Cami Checketts is married and the proud mother of four future WWF champions. Sometimes between being a human horse, cleaning up magic potions, and reading Bernstein Bears, she gets the chance to write fiction.

Cami graduated from Utah State University with a degree in Exercise Science. Cami teaches strength training classes at her local rec and shares healthy living tips on her fitness blog: http://fitnessformom.blogspot.com.

Cami and her family live in the beautiful Cache Valley of Northern Utah. During the two months of the year it isn't snowing, she enjoys swimming, biking, running, and water-skiing.

 It's a NEW YEAR and here are the TEN GOALS Cami has made:

1.      I hate to start with the least fun goal, but I promise this is the year I’m going to get my ice cream/chocolate addiction under control. Only one reasonably-sized serving per day. You may laugh, but this is a lofty goal for me.

2.      Be a more fun Mom. My boys are hilarious without any help from me, so all I have to do is not be the grump – laugh at 14yo’s political jokes (okay, not always easy), at least chuckle at 10yo’s potty humor (yes, getting tougher), chase the 6yo around, tackle and tickle him (aren’t I getting a bit old for that sort of thing?), and peek-a-boo with the baby (finally, an easy job).

3.      Write, write, write. Finish book three in the Dead Running trilogy. Polish Blog This and get it sent off. Actually start something new.

4.      Run three marathons. Now I know that sounds a bit insane (at least to me) but once you’ve trained for one marathon you might as well go for it and keep on running them. Right, right? Is anyone out there agreeing with me because I’m doubting myself a bit on this one. If I change it to three half-marathons will you all be disappointed?

5.      Serve more. At least once a week do each of the following: take bread or treats to someone, visit one of our adopted Grandmas, and be observant enough to fill a need I see.

6.      Halfway through and I’m starting to sweat, I thought this would be easier! Okay, number six will be: Ponder my scriptures instead of just rushing through each chapter. I think for this to be effective I will keep a notebook with my scriptures and write down thoughts and how the scriptures relate to me.

7.      Do the Lord’s will instead of my own. I always want to do this, but usually get so busy with my own to-do list that I don’t listen.

8.      This should not be number eight, please don’t any of you tell my cute honey that he is number eight on the list because he truly is the most important person to me in the world and rarely gets the attention he deserves. My goal for my husband is to be thrilled with each moment I get with him and not nag about the holes in the sheetrock (but seriously, we have four boys, you should see the size of those holes).

9.      Savor the moments. I often have so many things going through my brain I miss out on the great people and experiences that surround me. I’m going to try to slow down and savor what matters most.

10.  Be truly kind. Whenever we ask my 6yo to answer any gospel-related question he says: Be Kind! Most of the time it fits. I want to be kind in my thoughts and actions. I don’t want to waste time judging or questioning, but focus on positive thoughts and feelings.
Thank you Cami for being SO AMAZING!
Your books are INCREDIBLE and I LOVE THEM!
I encourage EVERYONE to READ them!

You can buy Cami's books on amazon.com

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer http://iamareadernotawriter.blogspot.com and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
Ends 1/31/13
a Rafflecopter giveaway

(A digital review copy of this title was provided by the author for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)

Jan 13, 2013

The Broken Path

1 comments
Cami Checketts is one of my ALL-TIME FAVORITE AUTHORS!

I finished ANOTHER one of her books tonight!

AND I am posting a Blog Tour post tomorrow for her new book Dying to Run...So check back to read about that :)

The Broken Path is SO GOOD!
Cami has a way of writing that pulls you in and and captivates you until you know how it ends...
In other words...You CAN'T put the book down!

Autumn has moved back to her home town with her little girl. She is divorced and is trying to make a good life for her and her little girl. She is determined to do it on her own...no man needed; nor trusted, ever again.

Ethan, or Effan as little Brittan calls him, was severely hurt in an accident when he was little and can't picture a woman ever wanting him and his deformed legs.

But...

No one planned on Brittan falling in love with Effan and pulling her mother along :)

Everyone can see how happy they would be together as a family...

If only Autumns' heart can get past the mistrust of her ex-husband, Trent.

Mystery, suspense, romance, and love of a child make this a MUST READ!

Jan 11, 2013

Drops of Gold

1 comments
I LOVE Sarah Eden's writings!

Her characters banter with each other as a humorous way to flirt...

For you see...
The girl likes the guy...but thinks the guy doesn't like her.
When in fact the guy likes the girl...but thinks the girl doesn't like him.

So FUN to read!

It makes you want to see them get together all the more :)

Marion, or Mary as she decided to be called, has been hired on a governess to Miss Caroline...

Layton, is still grieving the loss of his wife...but finds himself joyful when he is around Mary.

But it is improper for the Lord of the house to marry the child's governess...

Can they find a way...

Filled with love and romance and humor-- A must read for anyone who believes in "happily ever afters."

See more from Sarah M. Eden
(Click the icon for more information)



* This post contains affiliate links. I am an affiliate with Amazon.com and the Deseret Bookshelf Plus Services Affiliates Program. Both of these help me without any extra costs for you. Thank you!

Jan 9, 2013

Make It Happen Blog Tour

4 comments

About the Book
Author: Kylee Shields
Release Date: October 2012
Publisher: Walnut Springs Press
Genre: Self-Help

Book Description
Do you know what it means to be a kigatsuku person? Are you currently in a “hurricane” relationship or a “bridge”relationship? Do you know what it takes to be “righteous in the dark”? Have you struggled to find your place in the world as an LDS single? Do you feel like a misfit or a menace—like a circle trying to fit into a square?

If so, you’re not alone. It used to be an anomaly to be twenty-one and single in the LDS culture, but now there are entire stakes filled with single adults. In this book, author Kylee Shields explains how you can make the most of your single life, even if your current situation isn’t what you expected.

Make It Happen is a collection of principles, blog entries, stories, and conversations had on couches, floors, kitchen tables, and at many single-adult gatherings. It is filled with practical ways to make changes in your life, find hope, increase faith, strengthen relationships, and build the kingdom.


My Review
This book may have been specifically written for a single person...
But...I learned SO MUCH about ME and MY LIFE even though I am married!

I learned about being in HEALTHY relationships, taking charge of my LIFE instead of just going with the flow, how to set GOALS, how to change it up to get more VARIETY in life, how to turn off technology to be more PRESENT in the moment, how to truly STUDY the scriptures and have more MEANINGFUL prayer, and how to GROW where I am planted.

I LOVED Kylee's stories from her life and the things she has gone through and how she has grown because of them. I APPRECIATED how candid she was as she shared many personal feelings.

This book really touched my heart!
I think EVERYONE needs to read this book!

Giveaway
As part of the tour, Kylee is offering 4 amazing giveaways!! These include a $25 gift card to Amazon, a $25 gift card to Target, and a hard copy and ebook copy of the book.



To enter to win these prizes, simply fill out the Rafflecopter form provided. (Each tour stop will have the same Rafflecopter form).
  • Open from January 8 to January 31.
  • Must be 13+ years of age to enter
Earn entries by doing any/all of the following:


a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author
My name is Kylee and I am passionate about life. I am the oldest of 8 children and have the most amazing parents ever. I have one adorable niece and another niece/nephew on the way in May. I grew up in Oregon, moved my senior year of high school to Utah, then moved to San Diego, Boston, and currently live in Arizona.


I went to BYU and got my BA in English (creative writing/Editing) and a minor in Linguistics. I love words and writing! There is something very powerful in putting words together and expressing human emotions. I love poetry, reading great novels, blogging, etc. I have an old typewriter I adore and like to type out letters now and again and seal them with wax. I am an author and avid reader. I love learning new words and can trace that back to my mom who has the most amazing vocabulary.


I also attended ASU and got my Masters in Social Work (emphasis in clinical therapy). It has been said I went from God's University to the Devil's. I have always been drawn to the "punk kids" and absolutely love my job. I work as a Shadow (family therapist) at The Anasazi Foundation. I get to do therapy with amazing adolescents out in the deserts of Arizona. My office is on the trail and I get to throw rocks, hear hearts, and get to know some incredible kids from all over. Not bad for a day job!

When I am not with my family, hanging out with my friends, or working I absolutely love to travel. I have been to Egypt, Ghana, Italy, Mexico, Canada, Ireland, Scotland, and almost all 50 of the states. I love music—singing, writing songs, playing the piano, and listening to other musicians. I co founded a Musical Fireside group that is in the process of becoming a non-profit. I have loved watching INSPIRE: music. service.hope grow and touch the hearts of those who hear us sing.


I love God and try to recognize His presence in my life. For Him I am indebted for my many blessings and tender mercies. All that I have and am is because of Him.

Social Networking Links:
Purchase Links:

(A digital review copy of this title was provided by the author for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)


Jan 8, 2013

The Power of Everyday Missionaries

0 comments
Take everything you have ever learned about being a "member missionary" and then re-think it through this book.

Sometimes we know WHAT we need to do
But we just don't know HOW to do it.

Clayton Christensen helps us understand the HOW of being a member missionary through some simple techniques.

Here are just a few:

1. Do not judge who YOU think will be receptive...leave that to the Lord.
2. Use Gospel-lingo in everyday conversations...it will open up natural conversations.
3. Share the truth...it is really that simple.
4. Set goals and deadlines...it is easy to say "I'll do it tomorrow." But tomorrow never comes.
5. Become a "virtual missionary" by posting a blog or answering questions on blogs.

This book also has some AMAZING insights for EVERYONE on HOW to pray, study the scriptures and how to keep the Sabbath Day holy.

Great stories to illustrate the principles taught and a powerful testimony at the end.

Raggleroot Blog Tour

0 comments

About the Book
Author: Erik Olsen
Release Date: January 2013
Publisher: Cedar Fort Inc.
Genre: Fantasy

Book Description
Flin has always been told to stay away from the doors with five clover leaves. But when his only option to return home lies behind those doors, he’s forced to go against everything he’s believed. What he discovers is not only devastating, it’s deadly. Full of humor, action, and twists, this can’t-miss read is sure to keep you entertained to the very last page.

My Review
This book is the 3rd book in the Flin series. They really are filled with humor, action, twists, treasures, plant life unlike you have ever seen before, and friends who help each other.

Erik is an amazing writer who paints the picture so well you can see it in your mind and feel as if you are on this amazing journey yourself. These books are written for middle/teen readers, but adults will find them fascinating too!

To read my review of the first Flin book Cobble Cavern click HERE

About the Author
Erik Olsen lives in Sandy Utah, where he enjoys the mountains and is surrounded by a great family and friends that have continued to support him throughout his writing quest. After having one of the world’s craziest dreams, he began writing a series of five books detailing it, called Flin’s Destiny, which is full of continuous action and adventure deep in the earth and keeps you wanting more.
You can learn more about Erik’s writing at www.flinsdestiny.com. And don’t forget to check out his other book: Cobble Cavern and The Garden of the Lost Souls.


(A digital review copy of this title was provided by the author for this review. However, all reviews are of my own opinion :)
 

I Love to Read and Review Books :) Copyright © 2012 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template